Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My family really enjoyed this meal. I did a bit different, though. I cooked the ground beef with a teaspoon of minced garlic and about a 1/3 of cup of onions. I, also, added the chili powder and cumin as suggested by others. I went a little further and added a can of chopped green chilies and replaced the tomatoes with 24 oz. of salsa. I used rotini, bacause I didn't have and macaroni noodles. After it was done I topped it with crushed tortilla chips, cheese, sour cream, olives, and taco sauce. Then I added chopped cilantro as a final garnish. It was delicious and dissappeared quickly. Thanks for the great recipe. We will make this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Heyburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I make a very similar dish- except I use a 16 oz jar of salsa instead of the canned tomatoes and serve it wrapped burrito-style in tortillas with the cheese and sour cream, instead of over pasta. It's fast and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe especially with tomatoes fresh from the garden. I found that the beans should be drained. A little extra garlic powder and some chile powder really added a lot of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Thanks to all the other reviewers for their great suggestions on improving this dish. I am not sure how I would have rated it had I done it as written. I added garlic and onion to the meat while frying and also added extra spices with everything else....a generous helping of chili powder helped the taste really stand out in this hearty casserole. I also cut way back on the pasta. Sour cream is a must to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this came out really disappointing for us. I would not make it again. we did use a different kind of noodles but I dont think it would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
We changed a bit as follows: browned 2lbs ground beef with 1/2 cup of chopped onion. Added the corn, 1 can black beans, 1 can rotel, and garlic powder. We then used Mexican-style shredded cheese for more flavor. Also, we reduced the pasta to 6 ounces. It was great. We ate it two nights in a row, then I took the rest to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was a hit with my kids. I sometimes cook for our Wednesday nite get together at my daughter's home. I added 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 white onion chopped, 1 clove of garlic, minced, 1/2 cup of salsa, 1/4tsp celery salt,1/4tsp chili powder,just to give it a little more kick. Sour cream and cheddar cheese is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
The reviews make this a better recipe than the original. I wouldn't rate it quite this high except for versatility. Added chili powder, garlic powder, seasoned salt, seasoned pepper and cumin. The basic recipe needed help! Also, I would not use quite as much pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I liked the combination of ingrediants! Next time though, I will add one more can of tomatoes or jar of salsa!! I did add cumin, minced garlic, 1 chopped onion and chili powder like some of the reviewers suggested and I liked the flavor! Thank you Katrina for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I left out the corn and added more ground beef and beans. I substitued maccaroni for broken natcho chips. I also used fresh tomatoes and a package of taco seasoning instead of the garlic........came out better than the first time when I followed the recipe exactly. Just some ideas for substitutions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States