Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
I found that the tomatoes should be drained as well as the beans in order for it to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
Because my wife and I both work, I prepared this the night before. I substituted the kidney beans for beans with pork, Works well reheated and with the substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I have a 19 month old daughter. She loves noodles and beans. This is a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
Family liked it, just as easy to layer it all in a dish, rather than make stacks. Browned a chopped medium white onion along with the ground beef. This is a recipe that just seemed to need onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Very easy and good with ingredients most of us already have onhand...At least I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
Thought this recipes needed a bit of zip for a "southwestern" dish. I used Rotele tomatoes (w/ peppers)plus the diced tomatoes (which I blended); added onions and bell peppers, and a package of Taco seasoning. I didn't have the sour cream so I omited it. It then turned out to be a really good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe especially with tomatoes fresh from the garden. I found that the beans should be drained. A little extra garlic powder and some chile powder really added a lot of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Good recipe and it makes lots! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
This recipe is easily modified to suit your mood or tastes. Following the other reviewers' suggestions, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices the recipe calls for. I also added onion and some chopped red pepper to the meat while browning. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and a can of black beans, drained and rinsed, instead of the red. I thought it could use some color, so I then added some chopped green pepper I had in my freezer. Finally, I served it over white rice instead of macaroni. My husband wrapped his in a tortilla and ate it that way. Overall this is a great, versatile recipe. Thanks, Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States