Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I fixed this for a covered dish supper our church group had, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Our family has tried the recipe with and without the sour cream, since our 2 boys "think" they don't like sour cream. Using sour cream tasted best, and the kids didn't mind the sour cream since I didn't let them watch me cook with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
NOt good for low carb diets. BUt my husband loved it. I made it as a casserole topped with cheese.I also added the taco seasonings as others had suggesteed. I will definateley recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
The second time I made the recipe I tried it a little different. Added the Onion and taco seasoning a little tomato sauce and instead of plain diced tomatos I used salsa for added ZIP. then poured it over rice instead of pasta. WAS AWESOME!! Even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This had a little too much tomato flavor for me. Otherwise it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Usually my daughter hates foods that are mixed up but she loved this recipe. Next time I would use a smaller portion of pasta and a larger portion of the beans. I also added onions and garlic when I cooked the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
This recipe is easily modified to suit your mood or tastes. Following the other reviewers' suggestions, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices the recipe calls for. I also added onion and some chopped red pepper to the meat while browning. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and a can of black beans, drained and rinsed, instead of the red. I thought it could use some color, so I then added some chopped green pepper I had in my freezer. Finally, I served it over white rice instead of macaroni. My husband wrapped his in a tortilla and ate it that way. Overall this is a great, versatile recipe. Thanks, Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Good recipe and it makes lots! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe especially with tomatoes fresh from the garden. I found that the beans should be drained. A little extra garlic powder and some chile powder really added a lot of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
Thought this recipes needed a bit of zip for a "southwestern" dish. I used Rotele tomatoes (w/ peppers)plus the diced tomatoes (which I blended); added onions and bell peppers, and a package of Taco seasoning. I didn't have the sour cream so I omited it. It then turned out to be a really good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States