Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I fixed this for a covered dish supper our church group had, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Our family has tried the recipe with and without the sour cream, since our 2 boys "think" they don't like sour cream. Using sour cream tasted best, and the kids didn't mind the sour cream since I didn't let them watch me cook with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
NOt good for low carb diets. BUt my husband loved it. I made it as a casserole topped with cheese.I also added the taco seasonings as others had suggesteed. I will definateley recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
The second time I made the recipe I tried it a little different. Added the Onion and taco seasoning a little tomato sauce and instead of plain diced tomatos I used salsa for added ZIP. then poured it over rice instead of pasta. WAS AWESOME!! Even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This had a little too much tomato flavor for me. Otherwise it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Usually my daughter hates foods that are mixed up but she loved this recipe. Next time I would use a smaller portion of pasta and a larger portion of the beans. I also added onions and garlic when I cooked the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
This recipe is easily modified to suit your mood or tastes. Following the other reviewers' suggestions, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices the recipe calls for. I also added onion and some chopped red pepper to the meat while browning. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and a can of black beans, drained and rinsed, instead of the red. I thought it could use some color, so I then added some chopped green pepper I had in my freezer. Finally, I served it over white rice instead of macaroni. My husband wrapped his in a tortilla and ate it that way. Overall this is a great, versatile recipe. Thanks, Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Good recipe and it makes lots! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe especially with tomatoes fresh from the garden. I found that the beans should be drained. A little extra garlic powder and some chile powder really added a lot of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
Thought this recipes needed a bit of zip for a "southwestern" dish. I used Rotele tomatoes (w/ peppers)plus the diced tomatoes (which I blended); added onions and bell peppers, and a package of Taco seasoning. I didn't have the sour cream so I omited it. It then turned out to be a really good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States