Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
YUMMMY!!! This was a very good recipe. My son HATES casseroles. But, he thought this sounded great and ate it up! He doesn't like sour cream so I didn't add it. But I did add cummin, chili power, garlic powder, dried chili peppers, basil and some other spices, came out great! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
4.75...This was great everyone loved it and it is going to be a family favorite..added some taco seasoning, onion, and I added some mushrooms as well...excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I liked the combination of ingrediants! Next time though, I will add one more can of tomatoes or jar of salsa!! I did add cumin, minced garlic, 1 chopped onion and chili powder like some of the reviewers suggested and I liked the flavor! Thank you Katrina for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I give the original recipe 3 stars because of the lack of seasonings. The dish was bland, so I took the advice of the other reviews and added some dried onion flakes, chili pepper, cumin, 2 med onions, 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of 1 and marjoram. When doctored I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Great starting point, but I didn't see any "southwest" spices. So out came 3 cloves of garlic, a chopped onion, 1/2 a handful of chili power, a teaspoon or so of cumin, 6 - 8 shakes of crushed red pepper, a pile of chopped up hot pepper rings and some left over fresh salsa. Also drained the tomatoes. That gave it some good spice! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Very practical recipe for a family...I, too, added some other spices like garlic pepper, some chilli pepper, paprika, and taco sauce. I also made it as a casserole and it was very easy to serve and then store for leftovers. Great for having a one and two year old at home...Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Recipe has a good beginning, but needs more. There is nothing in it to flavor it. I added a bunch of chili powder, but it still needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this once before and found it to be good but a little bland, so the next time I added taco seasoning to the beef mixture along with some chopped bell pepper-what a difference, it was so good. Even my very, very picky husband loved it! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
The recipe was quick and easy, but needs a little more zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States