Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Very interesting dish. It looked unappealing to say the least, but when mixed together, it had a really good flavor. I almost didn't even taste it based on appearances alone, but both sons (14 & 24) gave me a thumbs up, and I agreed it was indeed pretty darn good. I think the sour cream added that special something to it. I followed this exactly as written. Next time I would add some onion powder and maybe even diced green chiles. I kept the macaroni, cheese, and sour cream separate, and we built the "haystacks" on our own plates, so the macaroni amounts were not an issue for us. (Update: even the leftovers got eaten, so it was a family "hit". I orginally gave this 3 stars, but had to upgrade it to 4 for so many reasons...) Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
We changed a bit as follows: browned 2lbs ground beef with 1/2 cup of chopped onion. Added the corn, 1 can black beans, 1 can rotel, and garlic powder. We then used Mexican-style shredded cheese for more flavor. Also, we reduced the pasta to 6 ounces. It was great. We ate it two nights in a row, then I took the rest to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Really nothing to brag about here as far as flavor. I thought it had too many noodles too. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was a hit with my kids. I sometimes cook for our Wednesday nite get together at my daughter's home. I added 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 white onion chopped, 1 clove of garlic, minced, 1/2 cup of salsa, 1/4tsp celery salt,1/4tsp chili powder,just to give it a little more kick. Sour cream and cheddar cheese is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
good and easy, but needs something to perk it up. will probably not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Simple and tasty this is a great hit with the men in my familly! I add a bit of extra shredded cheddar to the meat and beans while they're heating. I'm a pasta lover but this is WAY TOO MUCH pasta... I cut it in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Quick easy and tasty . This is the second time I've made it. The first time I added a can of rotel tomatoes and the second time I didn't , next time I won't forget the rotel. Sure made a difference in taste. This recipe served 7 easily so it makes a lot and not a costly dish to prepare either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I am on a increased fiber diet, and make this with the Barilla macaroni "plus" for added fiber, it is very tasty. I like that you can make it fast, and that it's easy. I think it's a lot better than regular American Chop Suey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Thought it was great but needed a bit more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
We just thought this recipe was alright. It needs some taco seasoning or something to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States