Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
An excellent recipe. Love it. Didn't change anything in it. So easy to prepare. Very tasty and very nutritional. Thanks for sharing with us. Later this year the rest of my family will taste this mouth-watering recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I found this too bland and dry for our tastes. However if one adds a can of Hunt's Spicy spaghetti sauce and mixes everything up together it's very good!! I will make again using my way because it also freezes very well that way .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
YUMEE!This recipe alone would have been pretty bland(kept tasting to see) so i added lots of chili powder and cumin, extra garlic powder too. I did not have plain diced tomatoes so i used a can of rotel with peppers and some picante sauce i had. I have picky eaters so i only used half the corn. This turned out soooo good. Its definitly a new favorite of ours!!! We also kept everything seperate and let everyone build there own. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: College Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very tasty, easy meal-in-one dish recipe. I added the sour cream to the mixture, instead of putting it on top. This is an excellent variation on goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I did make a few adjustments - added chili powder as others suggested; added a few drops of lime juice with sour cream; and used mac-n-cheese instead of just macaroni. My whole family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OvesPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made these as the recipe reads, and found it a touch bland. My kids LOVED it though. The second time I made them, I did make some changes, and with changes, I'd rate it much higher. My changes weren't that drastic, just a chopped onion, some Adobo and 3 cloves minced garlic cooked with the beef. Also a chopped green pepper added with the rest of the ingredients. Also, seasoned with salt and pepper as the recipe reads, but added crushed 1/4 tsp cumin seeds, 1 tsp mild chili powder, 1 tsp paprika. Was deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My family really enjoyed this meal. I did a bit different, though. I cooked the ground beef with a teaspoon of minced garlic and about a 1/3 of cup of onions. I, also, added the chili powder and cumin as suggested by others. I went a little further and added a can of chopped green chilies and replaced the tomatoes with 24 oz. of salsa. I used rotini, bacause I didn't have and macaroni noodles. After it was done I topped it with crushed tortilla chips, cheese, sour cream, olives, and taco sauce. Then I added chopped cilantro as a final garnish. It was delicious and dissappeared quickly. Thanks for the great recipe. We will make this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Heyburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Thanks to all the other reviewers for their great suggestions on improving this dish. I am not sure how I would have rated it had I done it as written. I added garlic and onion to the meat while frying and also added extra spices with everything else....a generous helping of chili powder helped the taste really stand out in this hearty casserole. I also cut way back on the pasta. Sour cream is a must to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Quite simple to make, and very yummy. Everyone in my family enjoyed this. However, I think next time I'll add some taco seasoning or chili powder to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My husband loved it, so did I. I did added more ingredients to it, like the other comments had mention. I've added onions, green pepper, some cream cheese because I didn't have a lot of of cheddar cheese, minced garlic, cumin, & oregano.Instead of 16oz tomatoes, I only had 28oz diced tomatoes,also I used chili beans. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States