Southwestern Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I would've given this recipe 4 1/2 stars, but gave 5 instead to up the rating on this yummy meal. It was super easy, super quick, and tasty. I added 1 onion to the meat. Seasoned with worceshtire sauce, tabasco, chilli powder, cumin, and cayenne in addition to the already called for spices. I then added 1/2 jar salsa to the mixture because I wanted it a bit more saucy. I am not a kidney bean fan, but this was delicious. The cheese and sour cream are a must - even for my husband who isn't big on either of them. The whole family loved it, and we will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Simply good. I also did what every else did: I replaced the tomatoes with salsa, added some cumin and chili powder, and added teaspoon of garlic with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaun Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very good and filling! My husband really enjoyed this recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALD98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was a very filling meal! It's good in so many ways. I will add more tomato sauce next time, but it was great anyway. Even the leftovers were good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I keep making this so I must like it! It's a quick and easy dinner that everyone in the house enjoyed. I added half a chopped onion and a heaping teaspoon of chopped garlic to the browning hamburger in lieu of the garlic powder. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilies and a dash of chili powder for extra kick. I'm currently on a dairy-free diet and it tasted just fine without the cheese and sour cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
6/08 wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolli
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent, easy recipe! I left off the kidney beans and used stewed tomatoes rather than diced tomatoes, but everything turned out wonderfully! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband really liked this. I did add some chili spice to it to help spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is a great after work or anytime recipe. It's a fun recipe to experiment with. I had leftover Mac & Cheese and added that, used a can of tomatoes and green chiles (drained a little), Onion to the beef and crushed tortilla chips with a dollop of sour cream. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My husband and my son and room mates really liked this. I put sliced olives and chopped tomatoes and green onions out along with the cheese as toppers. A great recipe to make for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States