Southwestern Green Chile with Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Very flavorful, will add to the winter soup/stew rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Delicious! Definitely one of the best pork stew recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great stew! I followed the recipe exactly, and really like the results. Next time I make it I will do some adjusting- 2 good size potatoes would probably be enough, reduce the water and I would cut the pork into relatively small pieces. Oh, and the picture provided with the recipe doesn't look anything like mine did. However, this is really tasty, and very close to a green chili and pork stew I had at a Navajo Nation restaurant, so it gets two thumbs up! Try it with cornbread and honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe is great but needs tweeked: Too watery! No water necessary, just used 3 cans of chicken broth, drain the beans...used pinto and black! Using green anaheim chillis, leave the seeds in for more firey taste. Its a stew! But right on on the measurements, perfect meat to potato to green chillis ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I thought this was so-so, but has the potentialto be really good. I skipped the flouring of the pork, and used two cans of pinto beans - one drained and one not. Some of the reviews complained about the stew being too watery, so I did not add any of the four cups of water, just the broth and the liquid from one can of beans and it still came out more like a soup than a stew. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, which went well with the other flavors. Overall, it was a little bland. I used very mild green chiles. Next time, I would definitely add one or two hotter chiles, and definitely more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
this was really yummy! i pretty much followed the recipe exactly with the exception of cutting it in half. it was tasty as is. however next time i think i might omit the garlic and beans (i only added a can of black since i had halved it). i tasted it before the addition of those ingredients and the chili peppers gave it a nice kick that seemed to be overpowered by the garlic and diluted by the juice in the beans. i will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this recipe using leftover pork loin. I followed the recipe, but used a can of chiles and added carrots for extra color. I also added some cumin and chili powder. It turned out full of flavor and very tasty. The family said to make it again. Next time I will use 2 cans of chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Would give this dish 5 stars except I made a few changes to the recipe to make it like our favorite restaurant's green chile stew. Added carrots, left-over corn, 1 whole onion, and several handfulls of shredded cheddar cheese. Left out all beans. Great green chile flavor and perfect stew consistency! (You must use New-Mexican green chiles though, not jalapenos as some reviewers did to get the correct flavor and heat.) Very easy, especially with a 7-week old consuming most of my time! ;o) Will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
good but soupy. Next time: 1/4 c flour sprinkled on pork pieces, omit water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States