Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was just great! I halved the recipe and used 1 cup of salsa in place of the diced tomoato. The spices tasted like packaged taco seasoning without all that sodium! What an excellent and easy alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Three pounds of ground meat for 10 servings seemed quite a lot to me. I made this for a leaner taco salad, so I scaled down. Used half a large onion, 1 large garlic clove, 1 tsp oregano, still full Tbs cumin because we love cumin, 1 pound ground turkey with about 2 Tbs lime juice squeezed in while onions were sauteed. Still used the full can of tomatoes since this was for taco salad. I also used crushed white corn tortilla chips to thicken the mixture till it reached the consistency I preferred. This was excellent. It still made quite a lot for a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I used lean ground turkey and it came out great for tacos (and almost fat-free!). The leftovers were delicious in a taco salad. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used chunky salsa and added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I have tried a similiar dish but never with the cornmeal nor fresh spices - it made a whole lot of diffrence to the texture and taste of the beef. It was much more moist and delish :) Was well worth it .. yummyyyyyyy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampines, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I may have used too much meat for spices. As a result, my husband was not fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spork Boy
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was very tasty, and didn't take a lot of time or effort to make. Just top the tacos and you've got a meal (okay, more like 2 or 3 meals).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spork Boy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I gave this recipe 5 stars. The meat has a very good flavor. I will never buy packaged powder again. It makes a lot. I made it for my family and shared it with a friend that had just had a baby. We still had enough left for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
good stuff! i'm not a fan of the spicey envelopes of salty junk my mom normally uses to make taco meat and i was on the hunt for a replacement. the spices didn't overwealm the rest of the taco and had a super taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious and tasty. Did not change anything. Everyone loved. Can use in soft tacos. Thanks for sharing. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was great! I'm trying to incorporate more Ground Turkey in our diets. I did cook this longer since I was using low sodium tomatoes & no salt. I also used regular Chile Powder & Chipoptle Chile Powder. Since we can't eat salt you really have to up the other spices. I let this simmer for several hours before adding the cornmeal. We made tacos & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States