Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I used lean ground turkey and it came out great for tacos (and almost fat-free!). The leftovers were delicious in a taco salad. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used chunky salsa and added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I may have used too much meat for spices. As a result, my husband was not fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spork Boy
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was very tasty, and didn't take a lot of time or effort to make. Just top the tacos and you've got a meal (okay, more like 2 or 3 meals).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spork Boy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious and tasty. Did not change anything. Everyone loved. Can use in soft tacos. Thanks for sharing. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Three pounds of ground meat for 10 servings seemed quite a lot to me. I made this for a leaner taco salad, so I scaled down. Used half a large onion, 1 large garlic clove, 1 tsp oregano, still full Tbs cumin because we love cumin, 1 pound ground turkey with about 2 Tbs lime juice squeezed in while onions were sauteed. Still used the full can of tomatoes since this was for taco salad. I also used crushed white corn tortilla chips to thicken the mixture till it reached the consistency I preferred. This was excellent. It still made quite a lot for a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I have tried a similiar dish but never with the cornmeal nor fresh spices - it made a whole lot of diffrence to the texture and taste of the beef. It was much more moist and delish :) Was well worth it .. yummyyyyyyy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampines, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My wife made this and she scaled it down to one pound and then added 2 chipotle peppers from a can and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I loved this recipe! Was very good and tasted perfect with the crunchy taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very good! I used this with ground turkey and since I halved the recipe and did not want to waste half a can of tomatoes, I used a good quality salsa in its place. This made for some tasty tacos and I plan to use up the leftovers with nachos. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was an awesome and easy recipe. I used vegitarian ground round and added 1-2 tbsp. Ketchup for added flavour. I also recommend making a side of guaccamole to add to your taco or pita. Very Tasty and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States