Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Killer flavor comes from using your own spices to season this taco meat. I agree with other reviewers - it tastes much better than using a package mix chuck full of sodium. We decided we wanted the meat a little zippier so I added a tablespoon of Chipotle pepper (smoked jalapenos, dried & ground. comes in a jar). Added the cornmeal after simmering 5 min and voila - best taco salad meat ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made with turkey. Left out the cornmeal because I did not have any. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is the best I have made for Taco Salad! Very easy to make and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe is super easy and super tasty! I did not add the cornmeal at the end and thought that I did not miss a thing! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This worked out great for our family's 1st shot @ Taco Salad! Did as some of the other reviewers, didn't have the cornmeal so used tomato paste instead. Even my picky 7 yr old said "I love the meat!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
tasted better than when i bought store bought seasoning. Didn't have onions so i substituted with dehydrated chopped onion and also used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Tasted great! I used lean ground turkey and fresh tomatoes. I omitted the cornmeal and used a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste intead. Added a little hot sauce. Went well with soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is serioulsy amazing!! It is way better than any taco seasoning packet you could buy at a store. The flavors in the this go perfectly together and taste wonderful. I made this with ground deer meat and it turned out better than I could have thought. Sometimes with deer meat, you can still taste the gamey-ness in it, but this disguised it very well! My husband and I just raved about the taste through our entire meal!! We made burritos with this meat!! Bought huge tortillas, shredded mexican cheese, and I made some pico de gallo from a recipe on here, and stuffed it into a burrito with this meat and it was to die for! Just like going to a mexican restaurant!! 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiteland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Use Tomato Sauce Instead Of Diced Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy and relatively quick. I used about 1/3 ground beef and 1/2 the spices, but all of the tomato. I'm just not into using half a can of diced tomatoes. Anyway, it's a nice combination and I served it as taco salad with refried beans, chips, lettuce, olives (for me), and salsa. Pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States