Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I changed the recipe to 4 servings and used ground turkey. It took a lot a extra seasoning to get it to have any flavor at all. Maybe it's better with ground beef - will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Easy to make, great taste! Family favorite! First time I made it I added the cornmeal, but actually thought it was better without. Great recepie either way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyorke71080

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is amazing! Similar yet different from the way the powder makes meat taste, but definitely better! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I used this as my basis. I scaled it down to 4 servings, 1.25 of meat. I added chopped bell pepper with the garlic & spices. I went light on the chili powder to make sure it was not too spicy. I also used tomato paste to thicken instead of the cornmeal. I could have used more chili powder or even green chiles instead of the bell pepper. Also, be careful scaling as the amount of onion and amount of tomatoes did not scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is by far the best taco meat recipe I have ever made. I do add an additional tablespoon of cumin, well because you can always use more cumin. Great recipe and a huge, huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I used red onion, venison ground, and doubled the spice amounts. I added a chopped Hungarian Wax pepper and some cayenne to the mix, as well as adding some chopped cilantro at the very end. I must say that this turned out excellent this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I liked it and was surprised by the cornmeal but will try to adjust the seasoning to make it more flavorful. Would still recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Fantastic, added Worcestershire sauce to it at the end to add a bit of tang otherwise it was a bit flat. Was a hit after adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I tried this for taco filling last night and it was wonderfull! My husband loved it. I added red pepper flakes to make it a little more spicy. This will be my "go to" recipe when I want to make tacos. I know it would make a great taco salad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I've been using this recipe now for about 2 years, so I thought I had better rate it. I make it exactly as written. My family will not eat tacos with beef made any other way. I didn't have some of the ingredients one night and made tacos with a package of spice I had in the cupboard....YUCK!!! Most of supper got chucked that night! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syphira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States