Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
and cooking the onions and adding the dry spices with garlic till fragrant was the secret to this wonderful taste of this dish. Only used 2 lbs of turkey and used salsa med. and diced tomatoes without juice . Flavorful and quick !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Healthy, delicious, versatile, and easy! I scale this down and use 99% fat free ground turkey breast. I have used tomato sauce in place of the diced tomatoes. Salsa would be good too. I also like to use Chipotle Chile Powder instead of regular for some spice. Mixing in some mushrooms is good too. When served on a whole wheat tortilla with a little shredded cheese, this is a wonderful, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I only had 2 lbs of ground turkey on hand so used that and eye-balled the ingredients to scale them down to size. I then took half of the final product and packaged it for freezing because 2 lbs. seemed like way too much for my husband, 2 small children and myself. OMG. I wish I would have had 3 lbs of turkey!! This was FANTASTIC and my husband had no idea that it wasn't red meat!! We gobbled down the 1 lb. that night. The next day, my husband and I couldn't stop talking about it so I took out the package from the freezer for dinner 2 nights later!Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is officially being added to my "favorites" recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Turned out GREAT! It's nice not to have to use the packaged stuff. I did use fresh tomato instead of can, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yahsclan10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was really good. I used ground beef and made them as tacos with crunchy shells, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, jalapenos, sour cream and salsa. Loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow as taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Perfect! Like another reviewer said, it tastes just like the seasoning packets but without the dreadful amount of sodium. I usually just throw a bunch of seasonings together when I make tacos, but for some reason never thought to add oregano! Great addition. I used a can of mild Rotel instead of the plain diced tomatoes. Also skipped the cornmeal - didn't feel it was necessary. Hubby is a taco addict so he was a happy camper. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Awesome turn from boring! Used for taco salad dinner, with a few tweaks of course, and was a hit with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrzis SoCerus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I only used a pound of turkey and halved all of the ingredients. I also added a bit of fajita seasoning in addition to the chili powder and, as someone else suggested, used 1 cup of salsa instead of diced tomatoes. Combined with a little cheese, sour cream, and homemade corn and black bean salsa, it was great. A hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Pretty good! My hubby LOVES tacos and routinely "begs" me to make them (more often than I want to lol!). While I enjoyed Pam's preparation, I think I prefer Erica Stewart's microwave tacos a tad better. Having said this, my decision really boils down to whether or not I am making tacos or a taco salad. I think this is much better suited for taco salad, but that's just me. Heck, my my hubs prefers an even simpler approach - fry up a lb. of ground beef, add a packet of taco seasoning and pile into crispy taco shells! I guess there's no one "right" way to eat tacos, so do whatever works for you. :) Served with a side of Mexican rice, frozen strawberry margaritas and all my favorite taco garnishes, this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing, Ms. Anderson! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very good, I will never make that terrible packet stuff again. I used salsa in replacement of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States