Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
i changed the serving size since all i had on had was 1lb of ground beef. not sure if converter was off, but flavor was too mild, so had to add more spices at end. otherwise seems like a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe as my base was awesome. I tweaked it some. I used Lawry's season salt, paprika, a pinch of onion salt, I am sure I added 2x more cumin than called for in the recipe, two cloves of garlic, a 1/2 tbspn of dried cinnamon, a 1/2 tbspn of cayenne pepper, and I probably used 1/2 the chili powder, I don't cook with olive oil anymore I used clarified butter (ghee), in my cast iron dutch oven. I also added a 32 oz of cannellini beans (Goya) and my 14.5 oz can of tomatoes was the seasoned tomatoes with basil and garlic. I also used a 24 oz of Rao's tomato basil marinara sauce. I add Rao's to everything that requires tomatoes it is fabulous. You don't have to use the entire jar like I did. We ate this as the main meal with corn chips on the side. I loved it. I loved the turkey it was seasoned properly. If I had more time I would have let the turkey sit in the fridge for an hour seasoned maybe next time I will try to follow the recipe less liberally. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee mag
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was very good and a nice substitute to the taco seasoning packets that have a power punch of sodium. The only thing I did differently was to use a can of Rotel as I didn't have tomatoes on hand. BTW - this was better the second day as it gave the flavors a chance to meld. Goodbye taco packets! Thanks Pam for a healthier alternative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Kids and adults love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Mmm yummy! I used ground turkey and made some tacos and added lemon to my taco. Will definitely try again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casimira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Mangilao, Mangilao, Guam
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent! I used Rotele tomatoes (tomatoes w/green chilis). Very good. No adjustments necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I felt like this recipe was missing something. It wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungrymartialartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe - it's a good base with lots to play with. We added half a potato and used mexican seasoned tomatoes and it was good, quick and easy without all the salt = WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is soooo easy and good!! Definitely a keeper and will be making it again. I used ground turkey and only had flour tortillas on hand, so we made burriros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Not enough spices for the amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States