Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was really good! It wasn't as spicy as I would have liked, so I added black pepper to taste at the end. I think an 1/8-1/4 tsp. cayenne would do nicely in this dish. I added 1/2 green bell pepper diced, and sauteed it with the onions. I also used about a cup of crushed tomatoes instead of the diced (my husband will eat what he cannot see). I simmered it for 30-45 minutes because I had time to kill. Overall an nice base that can be played around with to meet individual needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was easy and really tasty. I used ground turkey breast and thought the final dish tasted very similar to the packaged taco seasoning mixes. I liked being able to control how spicy it was. I did not have cornmeal so I just omitted it, and thought the texture was still great - not too saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Not sure about the "Southwest" flare, but I did add a can of the Rotel mix for the tomatoes, added the spices, and kicked it up a notch with a chipotle pepper and sauce. Toppings for the salad included a black bean and corn mixture. Quite easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this last night with ground turkey, added a can of corn and made tostadas with refried beans. Definite hit in my house. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved it and it was a great seasoning..everyone inhaled their tacos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Wow! Normally I buy McCormick taco seasoning, but I was out. AND my heart was set on tacos. I had all the ingredients it was fast and easy. Husband loves this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Used can of diced tomatoes with the juice. Half package of taco seasoning and a touch of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was a hit with my family tonight. I'm not a big fan of turkey but this was delicious. I'll be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I loved it with the ground turkey. I didn't use the cornmeal but I did thicken it by adding vegetarian black beans and vegeterian refried beans. Flavor was great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States