Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
tasted better than when i bought store bought seasoning. Didn't have onions so i substituted with dehydrated chopped onion and also used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Tasted great! I used lean ground turkey and fresh tomatoes. I omitted the cornmeal and used a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste intead. Added a little hot sauce. Went well with soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is serioulsy amazing!! It is way better than any taco seasoning packet you could buy at a store. The flavors in the this go perfectly together and taste wonderful. I made this with ground deer meat and it turned out better than I could have thought. Sometimes with deer meat, you can still taste the gamey-ness in it, but this disguised it very well! My husband and I just raved about the taste through our entire meal!! We made burritos with this meat!! Bought huge tortillas, shredded mexican cheese, and I made some pico de gallo from a recipe on here, and stuffed it into a burrito with this meat and it was to die for! Just like going to a mexican restaurant!! 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiteland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Use Tomato Sauce Instead Of Diced Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy and relatively quick. I used about 1/3 ground beef and 1/2 the spices, but all of the tomato. I'm just not into using half a can of diced tomatoes. Anyway, it's a nice combination and I served it as taco salad with refried beans, chips, lettuce, olives (for me), and salsa. Pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was okay, but a little bland for me. I cut it down to 1 lb of beef, half a large onion, 2 tsp of minced garlic, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp cumin because we love cumin, 1 and 1/2 cups of fresh tomatoes instead of from the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! The meat is awesome for taco salad, tacos, loaded nachos, anything you want! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is the first recipe I've found for ground turkey that I love to make. Super easy, versatile and tastes great with turkey or beef. I like to add a tsp of ancho chili powder to give it a little more flavor without adding heat. I will never buy taco seasoning again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
like sloppy joes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
We used ground turkey. I hadn't been successful with turkey tacos using packet seasoning but these were great. I'll be using this recipe instead of the packet seasoning from now on, with beef tacos too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States