Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I could not stop eating these! I subbed egg roll wrappers for the tortillas for ease of rolling. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
LOVED THIS! I skipped the jalepenos & cayenne & added some crushed pepper flakes instead since I don't like a lot of spice. I used 2 chicken breasts since I was making this for dinner & used lots of freshly chopped spinach & corn. I baked these for about 15 minutes and they were AMAZING! My boyfriend loved them! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Terrible. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The whole family really liked these. The only thing I don't like about the recipe is it uses such small amounts of some of the ingredients, leaving you with leftovers to use up, and I happen to be horrible at that! So the next time I used 2 large chicken breasts, the whole can of black beans, 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 1c. corn, 1 bunch of gr. onions, 2 cups pepper jack cheese, and the whole 10oz pkg. frozen spinach. I adjusted the rest of the ingredients/spices accordingly (this amount makes at least 20 egg rolls). Instead of sauteing the chicken and then everything else, I sprinkled taco seasoning and spread salsa on the chicken and baked at 375* for 30 min. Meanwhile, I sauted the bell pepper, then added the spices and everything else except the chicken and cheese. When the chicken was cooked I chopped it finely and just mixed with everything else in a large bowl, along with the cheese. I baked the egg rolls at 450* for 10 min. turned them over and baked another 10 till they were finally golden and at least somewhat crispy. Served it with Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
very good. got great reviews! the stuffing makes a lot. i froze it and made what i needed. the rolls were even stuffed! i now come up with different dips to add to the tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I love this recipe and make it often. It is a bit of work but it is worth it. I recently made it for some friends and they were fighting over the last one! I've tried several variations to this, and the original in my opinion is the best. I've tried the baking and while they are good, they are not near as tasty as the deep fried version. I even did a side by side comparison, and the deep fried won hands down. But if you are watching calories, the baked version is still good. I also tried the freezing vs. no freeze and when deep frying, even with them secured with toothpicks the ones I didn't freeze came open during the fry. I serve these with a quick mixed avocado dip (smashed avocados, sour cream, chopped tomato, onions, jalapeno, and cilantro). They are so good and so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coulter, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waverly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Awesome! I halved the cheese and used whole wheat tortillas for nutrition factor, sprayed with Canola oil and baked at 475 15 min. Hubby went back for more- RARE and I did too- even MORE RARE! They were crunchy and perfect, dipped in just sour cream WOW! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. This was even better then the ones I've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe so many times and my husband and I love them! I made these once with the egg roll wrappers, but now I always make them with tortillas and bake them I prefer to make them a little healthier and they still taste great! I also make a dip sometimes to go with them - just put cilantro, avocado, ranch sauce packet (dry) and sour cream or yogurt and blend in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States