Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were so delicious. instead of the tortillas I used egg roll wraps, instead of the parsley I used cilantro, and instead of cayenne I used black pepper. Did not use cumin because I did not have any on hand. I used red, yellow, and green peppers, and didn't use any spinach. I also place a toothpick at the bottom lip before cooking them so they would not come apart. I did not freeze them. I deep fried them for about 3 minutes 3 at a time. They came out amazing. Brought them to work for lunch and had one person try them now everyone wants the recipe. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome! My teenage son who "doesn't like vegetables" requests this. I bake them instead of deep frying also, there's really no need for the added calories, it's a healthy YUMMY meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Amazing. I have made these with and without the chicken and enjoyed them both times. Served it with Amy's cilantro sauce from this site - so, so good together. Will definitely make again (many times)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Sweet baby Moses this was goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These are fantastic!! I used egg roll wrappers, brushed them with olive oil and cooked them in the oven!!! I would make them over and over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Great recipe - but i did make changes. Instead of jalepenos, added a small can of chopped chiles, instead of green onion, i just added regular onion,and instead of parsley, i used cilantro. I also added lime juice and salt to taste. As suggested on previous reviews, i baked instead of frying them at 450 for 15 mins. I sprayed the tortillas with pam, put the mixture in, rolled it, sealed with a couple of toothpicks and placed them on baking sheet. Leave space in between each roll (if you get them too close together the sides will not get crunchy. They turned out great..huge hit at my Bible study. Paired this with Amy's cilantro sauce on this website as well. Thanks for the recipe!! Will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I have never reviewed anything during the 10+ years I have been on this site, until now. What a 5-star killer recipe!! Made it for a family party, and they were gone so fast, I thought someone was playing a prank on me! I followed the recipe as written, and couldn't have been more pleased. My nephews wife demanded the recipe. For your next party, or just for family snacking during the game, make this a go-to recipe. Try the creamy tomatillo avocado sauce (found here) with it for the perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
BETTER THAN ANY RESTURANTS!!! A little time consuming, so I'm glad I doubled the recipe. I have another PERFECT 5 in the freezer for a treat in the not so long future. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Definitely a 5-star recipe and just like the ones at chili's! These were amazing & everyone loved them! I tripled the ingredients & used three chicken breasts to make sure I'd have enough for everyone to try and have some extras in case anyone wanted another one (by doing this i ended up with about 12 eggrolls) - good thing - because they went fast!! I chopped up/minced a sweet onion instead of green onion & chopped up fresh baby spinach instead of using frozen. I also omitted the cayenne pepper since we didn't have any and some don't care for things very spicy anyway. I used shredded Colby jack cheese since that was all I could find at the store and used the flour tortillas. I made some as the fried version & some as the baked version and both were excellent! Fyi-I also omitted freezing them before cooking them and they stayed together just fine - just used a toothpick to keep them together while cooking them, then take the toothpicks out before serving them. For the dipping sauce I made a guacamole dip (using a packet from the store & fresh avocados) and then added sour cream and some ranch dressing. It turned out really good! Everyone loved the eggrolls (and the sauce), even those that don't like things too spicy, so they had just enough of a 'southwest' kick without going overboard. Will definitely be making these again, I just wish it had made even more the first time so that I could have had some to freeze for next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent! These are also delicious when served with pepper jelly for a dipping sauce.- Conndeerslayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,065) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States