Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
With the exception of freezing, I followed the recipe to the letter an was not at all disappointed. After the first bite my husband said these test like one we had at a restaurant...Chili's. I loved them. I used the flour tortillas because I like them. Not too doughy for me. I fried them because I didn't care if they were healthy or not. I suspect the freezing step was to help hold them together when fried. Since I didn't freeze them I a stuck a wooden skewer near each end through all the folds. Love it! Well worth the little bit of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious base recipe. I used more cumin than suggested, added sweet baby ray's bbq sauce, and loaded it with curry as well. I also uped the amount of beans and spinach to make it a bit healthier. I did not fry these, just baked em as others have commented about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is extremely popular with my family. It's one of the few ways I can get my picky toddler to eat veggies! I use the ingredients called for in the recipe, but I'm very flexible with the quantities. I just throw everything together and heat it up. I use either egg roll wrappers or tortillas, depending on what I have on hand, and I spray the egg rolls with cooking spray and bake them at 450 until they're lightly browned. I don't freeze them first. I serve the egg rolls with Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These were delicious. We grilled some corn on the cob and used that instead of frozen. We skipped the spinach (didn't have any on hand) and didn't freeze them. We also baked them in the oven instead of frying in oil. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love this recipe, when we did it we used the amy's cilantro cream sauce with it. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Gray
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very nice recipe, and pretty easy to make. I substituted kale for spinach, and used fresh ingredients instead of frozen, just stir frying them together with the red pepper and onion. I don't deep fry, and instead I pan fried the rolls in a little oil on the stove top, turning them when browned. I didn't freeze the rolls before cooking either and they stayed together nicely, as long as I fried them seam side down first. Husband loved them and wants them again soon. Next time I might try baking them. Served them with a little sour cream and some Cherry Republic green salsa, lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Another great knock-off recipe that uses whatever ingredients you have on hand. I have used pulled pork, rotisserie chicken, all sorts of veggies, and various cheeses. Texas caviar would work very well in these (without the dressing, of course). To cut fat content, I spray the tortillas with olive oil and bake them at 400 for 10-15 minutes, turning once to brown all around. A crowd favorite that always goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times. I leave out the beans (don't like beans) and use egg roll wrappers. Did some with tortillas but liked egg roll wrappers best. I always double the recipe. I like these better then the ones at Chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Subbed corn w/trader joes corn salsa. Rolled. Sprayed cookie sheet and rolls w/Pam. 425 15 min, turning 1/2 way. Mixed sour cream w/salsa for dipping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The filling is excellent! I agree with many other reviewers and recommend using egg roll wrappers instead! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,067) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States