Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Did everything as directed, except I doubled the spinach. Glad I doubled the recipe! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was delicious - made a couple of additions that were also terrific. Added 1/3 cup plain cream cheese (you can use whipped or regular)and 1 avocado (chopped). I mixed in the cream cheese when the chicken mixture was still hot when removed from stove (incorporate well so you don't have blobs of cream cheese) and mixed in avocado right before putting into tortillas (incorporate gently). Also cut way down on the oil for frying - used only about 1/4 of olive oil and it was plenty to make them gold brown and melted inside. Used multiple dipping sauces including: jalapeno ranch dressing, guacamole, salsa and sour cream. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is yummy! I used 1 Gardein (vegan) scallopini cutlet and some other minor substitutions based on family preferences, baked them (with ends tucked in), and served with avocado slices and Cilantro Cream sauce. Makes 2 large tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Made written except did not freeze, spayed with PAM and baked at 450 degrees for 20 minutes. Served with Amy,s Cilantro Cream Sauce. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Love this recipe! I baked them for 15 mins, 450 degrees. I didn't use frozen spinach however opted for fresh. I will double this recipe next time, itI was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
These were fantastic. My husband can't get enough. I used flour tortillas instead and baked them at 400 degrees for a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazingly good! I baked them for 10 minutes instead of frying them, and they came out great! I ended up making a larger batch the next time I made them, so they were more burrito-sized than finger food sized. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
The first time I made this, I deep fried them in egg roll wrappers, based on the opinions of other reviews. They were very good, but also very greasy, and I cringed at the oil left on them, even wrapping them in paper towels after cooking. The second time I made them I baked them (2 in egg roll wrappers and 2 in soft taco wraps) at 475. I set the timer for 10 minutes, but removed them a little earlier (taking them out when browned). I was surprised that both turned out crispy and tasted REALLY good when baked. My wife liked the ones in egg roll wrappers better. She like the texture of the crispy egg rolls (the egg roll wraps really do crisp up nicely in the oven). I agreed, but also really liked the ones in soft taco wraps as well. Based on my experience, if you are going to deep fry them it's important to cool the final mixture in the fridge until it's cold. I didn't cool the mixture completely, and the result was that when I deep fried them, the mixture turned out a little 'mealy', due to the high heat of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Too much cheese. Would be good with added salsa or dunk in salsa. Did egg roll wraps and flour burritos. I preferred the burritos, some kids preferred the egg roll wraps - I thought they were too hard. Sprayed pan and top of egg rolls with Pam and cooked at 425 degrees for 10 minutes (too much, do 7) then flipped to brown the other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome ! Think tortilla shells would be too much and too hard to roll, and did not want to deep fry so used egg roll wrappers. Filling was exactly as written in original recipe. Made night before, placed in casserole dish then refrigerated covered with wax paper on tope of rolls to stay moist. Baked next day- yummy ! Stuck a bit so will spray dish next time. A keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,075) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States