Southwestern Dough Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These were very good my husband really like them , I did do a few changes I added green chilies, some green onion, a little garlic just a pinch and a little sugar. I will make them again, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I subbed spelt flour for the all-purpose flour, and added 1 tsp. poultry seasoning. More milk was added due to the change in flour. My family really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Instead of bell peppers try canned green chiles. Mmmmm... Since they are already cooked you don't even need to sautee them unless you want to do it quickly (to help incorporate the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These are truly delicious! I used gruyere cheese and a bit more corn-- also a little more milk to keep the mixture sticky enough. The cooking time is more like 18-20 minutes; just keep an eye on them and be sure you let them cook until golden. They are so good with chili plus, you can store them in tupperware and reheat within three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very tasty but way too salty. I did add a half teaspoon of sugar (I made a half batch) and used frozen corn. Next time I'll try them with about half or less of the salt. Also, took almost double the stated time to bake. Update: much better with half the salt! I added the sugar again this time, and when cooking the peppers, I threw the corn in there too. Turned the heat up and got a nice char on the veggies, it was very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
These southwest style biscuits are very good. I added a teaspoon of sugar and they came out great. Quite an odd name, but good nonetheless. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Not sure if I made these right, but they came out ok. I had to add more milk, because the peppers and corn weren't mixing in. Then is was too sticky, so I had to add more flour. I used lactose free milk and cheese and they still tasted pretty good. My husband really likes them and suggested they need bits of cooked bacon and some tomato sauce. I would probably make these again, as they are a pretty easy biscuit recipe. Maybe, I was supposed to add spicy peppers. A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I liked the idea of the bell peppers, and particularly the suggestion to use a medley of colored peppers. I chose not to cook them first, and quite honestly, I don't think I'd have liked them cooked. I didn't include the corn out of consideration for Hubs' sensitive innards and, quite honestly, I think they were better for that omission anyway. I reduced the amount of salt by half and since it was just right, I can only imagine these would have been too salty had I used the full amount. I found I had to use a far greater amount of milk to get the dough to the correct consistency. I have no idea why this was so far off. Finally, 350 degrees is a little too moderate for biscuits. I increased the temperature to the more conventional 425 degrees, and baked them about 12-15 minutes. (Time, of course, will depend on your oven and the size of the biscuits. I dropped the dough by quarter cupfuls) Once out of the oven I brushed them with melted butter to which I had added California garlic salt. The biscuits baked up nice and plump with a golden and somewhat crispy exterior. You really do need that higher heat! The mixed colors of the bell peppers made these confetti-like pretty, and the melted butter gave them a glossy sheen and a nice flavor from the garlic salt. I liked them a lot. The ultimate result was that the bell pepper was a tasty and interesting addition but unfortunately that was not enough to redeem the recipe from the issues I've outlined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were fine as-is, but I wish I'd halved the recipe and subbed green chiles for the bell pepper as other reviewers had. That would have taken these biscuits to a solid 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States