Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I skipped the skillet and went with the slow cooker. I also changed the salsa from Pace to Gunpowder Salsa which has, in my opinion, a better flavor. I added the juice and zest of one lime and a teaspoon of red pepper for a little heat. If I make it again I'll use noodles instead of beans as a variation. All in all I had to tweak this recipe too much too give it more than 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I've made this many times and it can't be fouled up - perfect when you don't have exactly the ingredients the recipe calls for. No matter how you make this - and many will change things up - the basics of chicken, broth, salsa and beans make a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BookBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious! I threw the raw chicken breasts in the crockpot with the other ingredients and cooked on high for 4 hours, shredded chicken and threw back into broth my whole family live
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bascha
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It was a great soup!! My whole family loved it! Now I did not have white beans so I substituted for kidney beans and I used canned white corn instead of frozen. Also did 1 1\2 cups of salsa. I also sliced a french loaf with some parsley-lemon butter. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Nice simple recipe for a week night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Followed other's suggestions and doubled salsa and chicken broth. Used black beans, not white, added about 1/2 cup of wild rice, and used very thin chicken breasts. Threw everything in the crockpot just before going to bed and cooked for 8 hours on low. Did not cook chicken first. When I woke up and stirred the soup, the chicken breast just fell apart. I didn't need to shred them. Took a bowl to work for lunch and wasn't to thrilled with the results, but for my second bowl I added salt, pepper, and grated parmesan cheese ... WOW .. what a difference these 3 additions made!! It gave the soup the kick it needed. Also, adding wild rice makes soup nice and thick so I always add it when making soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
If you're hankerin' for a quickly made soup that really is quite yummy, give this one a try...I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written and voila'...nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It's cooking now. I used left-over turkey for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Siko
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
For us, Campbell’s Kitchen recipes tend to be a bit bland probably because they sell more products if targeting a broad population. Knowing that, we upped the spice and gave it some heat. While browning the chicken, added a seasoning mix, and dumped everything into the slow cooker. Added 2, thinly sliced habanero chili peppers, seeded which definitely gave this a suitable kick for us (one may be enough if only wanting mild heat). 2 cups of sliced carrots were added simply because they were leftover, and didn’t want them to waste. Used 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth instead of 1 3/4 cups, and glad we did. We were pleased with this dish, and it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very Good! I put my partially thawed chicken breast in the crock pot at the same time I put everything else in. When the chicken was done, I shredded it and returned it to the crock pot. I also added an extra cup of broth and an extra cup of salsa. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States