Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I skipped the skillet and went with the slow cooker. I also changed the salsa from Pace to Gunpowder Salsa which has, in my opinion, a better flavor. I added the juice and zest of one lime and a teaspoon of red pepper for a little heat. If I make it again I'll use noodles instead of beans as a variation. All in all I had to tweak this recipe too much too give it more than 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I've made this many times and it can't be fouled up - perfect when you don't have exactly the ingredients the recipe calls for. No matter how you make this - and many will change things up - the basics of chicken, broth, salsa and beans make a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BookBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious! I threw the raw chicken breasts in the crockpot with the other ingredients and cooked on high for 4 hours, shredded chicken and threw back into broth my whole family live
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bascha
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It was a great soup!! My whole family loved it! Now I did not have white beans so I substituted for kidney beans and I used canned white corn instead of frozen. Also did 1 1\2 cups of salsa. I also sliced a french loaf with some parsley-lemon butter. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Nice simple recipe for a week night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Followed other's suggestions and doubled salsa and chicken broth. Used black beans, not white, added about 1/2 cup of wild rice, and used very thin chicken breasts. Threw everything in the crockpot just before going to bed and cooked for 8 hours on low. Did not cook chicken first. When I woke up and stirred the soup, the chicken breast just fell apart. I didn't need to shred them. Took a bowl to work for lunch and wasn't to thrilled with the results, but for my second bowl I added salt, pepper, and grated parmesan cheese ... WOW .. what a difference these 3 additions made!! It gave the soup the kick it needed. Also, adding wild rice makes soup nice and thick so I always add it when making soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
If you're hankerin' for a quickly made soup that really is quite yummy, give this one a try...I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written and voila'...nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It's cooking now. I used left-over turkey for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Siko
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
For us, Campbell’s Kitchen recipes tend to be a bit bland probably because they sell more products if targeting a broad population. Knowing that, we upped the spice and gave it some heat. While browning the chicken, added a seasoning mix, and dumped everything into the slow cooker. Added 2, thinly sliced habanero chili peppers, seeded which definitely gave this a suitable kick for us (one may be enough if only wanting mild heat). 2 cups of sliced carrots were added simply because they were leftover, and didn’t want them to waste. Used 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth instead of 1 3/4 cups, and glad we did. We were pleased with this dish, and it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very Good! I put my partially thawed chicken breast in the crock pot at the same time I put everything else in. When the chicken was done, I shredded it and returned it to the crock pot. I also added an extra cup of broth and an extra cup of salsa. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States