Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Followed directions mainly but added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and chopped cilantro for garnish and it was great. Felt unsure about the recipe having flavor but I was very suprised. My husband ate all the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Delicious! Extra soup freezes well. I crumbled in some tortilla chips while eating for a treat. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Super delicious and easy. Following the suggestion of another reviewer I shredded the chicken and doubled the liquids and it came out perfect. Put a little cheddar cheese on top, a dollop of lite sour cream and some cilantro. This will become one of my regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Easy to make, inexpensive, and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My kids loved this soup! It was zesty without being spicey hot. I did alter very slightly. It needed more liquid so I added 1 more cup of broth and I only added 1 teaspoon of cumin instead of 2. I will Definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great soup! Tasty, healthy and satisfying with a piece of crusty bread. The salsa adds just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I used black beans instead of white beans, and also added mushrooms. Cooked in a pot on the stove for about 4 hrs. Everything was tender and tasted great; the soup is a meal in itself w/ the chicken and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misspeanut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is a great soup! I added carrots, and a bit more broth and salsa to ensure leftovers. My chicken was a bit dry, so next time I might just add the cooked chicken prior to serving, or maybe half way through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great recipe! Simple, healthy, and you already have most of the ingredients on hand. I skipped the slow cooker part - what's the point of a slow cooker if you have to cook the chicken before hand? I simmered on the stove and it turned out great. I pretty much followed the recipe, adding shredded carrots because I needed to use them up. I always add more seasoning. Overall great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States