Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This soup is cooking right now. It looks/smells good. I needed to alter the recipe because there didn't appear to be enough liquid. I had to double both the salsa and the chicken broth. I dont think the measurements are correct
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I thought this was a really good base recipe, but I made some changes. I thought it was a bit bland, so I added extra salsa, some green chiles, some cayenne pepper and a couple carrots. Also, I served it over a bed of rice covered in a little cheddar cheese. It was awesome. Even my picky 5 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Absolutey Awesome !!! I give 5 star ratings quite often because that's usually the rating that the recipes on Allrecipes are that I pick to try. But this one is outstanding. So very simple and S-o-o-o-o very tasty. Two thumbs up !!! The only thing different was I used 3 cans of beans 'cause we're bean lovers and my wife threw in some Corn Tortilla chips and it turned into a tortilla soup. This will be a fixture in our house for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
i change the cubed chicken to shreaded chicken(boiled in chicken broth) and garnished with jack cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Super delicious and easy. Following the suggestion of another reviewer I shredded the chicken and doubled the liquids and it came out perfect. Put a little cheddar cheese on top, a dollop of lite sour cream and some cilantro. This will become one of my regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Followed directions mainly but added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and chopped cilantro for garnish and it was great. Felt unsure about the recipe having flavor but I was very suprised. My husband ate all the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
DELICIOUS! I made this soup for my niece who is watching her weight...and now I have to make it for her almost weekly. She and her boyfriend LOVE it!! I added cilantro at the end and WOW, what a dish! I cooked it on the stovetop slowly and it thickened a bit...thanks for a healthy, delicious recipe. Annie T., Bklyn, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great recipe! Simple, healthy, and you already have most of the ingredients on hand. I skipped the slow cooker part - what's the point of a slow cooker if you have to cook the chicken before hand? I simmered on the stove and it turned out great. I pretty much followed the recipe, adding shredded carrots because I needed to use them up. I always add more seasoning. Overall great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Delicious! Extra soup freezes well. I crumbled in some tortilla chips while eating for a treat. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious and super easy (the way I did it).... I just threw 3 whole frozen skinless boneless chicken breast halves into the crockpot with all the other ingredients (except I added the beans the last hour so they wouldn't get all mushy) and I substituted a 15 oz can of mexican style diced tomatoes for the salsa... cooked on low for about 10 hours, shredded the chicken, put back in and added the beans and cooked for another hour. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States