Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Was delicious and so easy to make. I'd recommend sauteing the onions for a few minutes before putting in the crock pot. I used a rotisserie chicken and shredded it instead of cooking chicken breasts, otherwise, made exactly as directed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Wonderful, hearty, and healthy. I added the cilantro for the entire cooking time and did also double the chicken broth. Each serving was topped off with tortilla chips and shredded cheddar cheese. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was fantastic! I made some changes... first i used 1lb ground turkey because that's what i had. I cooked the turkey with the onion and garlic and also threw in some shredded carrots to cut down on cook time. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, 2 cans of navy beans and 1 can of corn. I increased the salsa to 1 1/2 cups (actually used Pace picante cuz it's what i had). Put in some extra cumin and also added 1 tsp of onion powder and 2 tsp of chili powder and about 1/2 tsp or so of crushed red pepper. Brought to a boil and let simmer for about 45 min. Added 1 box of frozen chopped spinach and cooked for another 15 min. Yummy! Was fairly spicy but i love it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mosaicmom35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My husband loved this and it was so easy to make. I didn't have cumin on hand so I used curry. Otherwise, followed the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good! We followed the other suggestions and added a shredded carrot, doubled the broth & salsa and served w/ tortilla chips, sour cream & cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great on a cold winter night! I made the following adjustments: I boiled 3 chicken breasts, green onions and two cans of chicken broth. It wasn't even to fill up my crowd but it was filling and good. I might try adding some crushed chips to the top next time and maybe black beans in addition to the white beans. Still a great soup. Oh cooked on the stove in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made this soup for supper yesterday and it was fabulous! The only thing I did differently from the recipe was use dried white beans instead of canned, as I already had some soaking. It had plenty of liquid and was soupy. I used medium salsa, which gave a hint of spice. I served sprinkled with grated sharp cheddar and crushed tortilla chips like crackers. I am now eating it for lunch and it might even be better the next day. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
awesome soup,and i am not a soup eater but i couldn't stop eating this,thanks for the great recipe..i didnt change a thing.this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very good! I used chicken tenders - cut to bite size chunks. A couple of dashes of hot sauce during cooking - like others I just prepared on stove top. Served with dollop of sour cream and cilantro - preparing this for Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Absolutey Awesome !!! I give 5 star ratings quite often because that's usually the rating that the recipes on Allrecipes are that I pick to try. But this one is outstanding. So very simple and S-o-o-o-o very tasty. Two thumbs up !!! The only thing different was I used 3 cans of beans 'cause we're bean lovers and my wife threw in some Corn Tortilla chips and it turned into a tortilla soup. This will be a fixture in our house for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States