Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe was a good start. However, I recommend adding a can of V8 juice. As is this was pretty thick. I added additional salsa and chicken broth after I realized that it was not going to yeild the extra soup I had hoped for and was still left wanting more of a tomato base. I served it with tortilla chips and fresh avacado and cilantro ... wouldn't dare serve without because it is kinda plain! Green chilies may also be a good addition. This could also be converted into a vegetarian soup omitting chicken and replacing chicken broth with vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very tasty. Could use more spice, though. I served mine with tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream. (I hate when people give 1000 words on all the things they did differently. Just review the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I didn't have any Pace salsa so I substituted Tomatillo salsa and it turned out great. Didn't make any other changes. Will absolutely make it again and will continue to use the Tomatillo salsa, my husband thought it was one of the best soup's I've made. Did use the crockpot, felt it allowed the seasoning to meld together. Next time I will shred the chicken as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is quite good. Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very surprised with how high this Soup was rated, I felt it fell short! It was just Okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We enjoyed this soup (really more like a stew) but found it to be just average (3 stars). I did not cook the chicken breasts but just threw them in the crock pot along with the other ingredients. They were easy to shred at the end of cook time. I was surprised that no salt was called for or needed. Next time, I will probably add more beans, chicken broth, and salsa. **2nd night - husband insisted I raise this soup to 4 stars. I added more liquid and the flavor was better. Might be one of those soups that is better the 2nd night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Really good. Don't cook the chicken before adding to the crock -- just throw it in raw. After cooking on high for that long, it shreds easily making it like a stew. I only cooked mine for 5 hours. You can even put the chicken in frozen, though it will probably need the entire cooking time for that. UPDATE: when I didn't have time for crock put, I cooked chicken in oil, when done, added ~4 TBSP flour, cooking for a minute before adding remainder of ingredients. (actually used black & pinto beans instead of white and forgot the onion. If I had remembered the onion, I would have cooked it at same time as chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
i made this on the stove and cooked within 30 mins...delicious. the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Was delicious and so easy to make. I'd recommend sauteing the onions for a few minutes before putting in the crock pot. I used a rotisserie chicken and shredded it instead of cooking chicken breasts, otherwise, made exactly as directed. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Wonderful, hearty, and healthy. I added the cilantro for the entire cooking time and did also double the chicken broth. Each serving was topped off with tortilla chips and shredded cheddar cheese. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States