Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good. I did not pre-cook the chicken but I did saute the onion and garlic in EVOO before adding to the crock pot. I also used Rotel instead of salsa and added a can of diced jalapenos. Cooked everything on high for 5 hours. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
You can't go wrong with this. It's just spicy enough but not too spicy. The white beans add an extra dimension. This is a GREAT alternative to regular chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma_jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe was a good start. However, I recommend adding a can of V8 juice. As is this was pretty thick. I added additional salsa and chicken broth after I realized that it was not going to yeild the extra soup I had hoped for and was still left wanting more of a tomato base. I served it with tortilla chips and fresh avacado and cilantro ... wouldn't dare serve without because it is kinda plain! Green chilies may also be a good addition. This could also be converted into a vegetarian soup omitting chicken and replacing chicken broth with vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very tasty. Could use more spice, though. I served mine with tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream. (I hate when people give 1000 words on all the things they did differently. Just review the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I didn't have any Pace salsa so I substituted Tomatillo salsa and it turned out great. Didn't make any other changes. Will absolutely make it again and will continue to use the Tomatillo salsa, my husband thought it was one of the best soup's I've made. Did use the crockpot, felt it allowed the seasoning to meld together. Next time I will shred the chicken as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is quite good. Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very surprised with how high this Soup was rated, I felt it fell short! It was just Okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We enjoyed this soup (really more like a stew) but found it to be just average (3 stars). I did not cook the chicken breasts but just threw them in the crock pot along with the other ingredients. They were easy to shred at the end of cook time. I was surprised that no salt was called for or needed. Next time, I will probably add more beans, chicken broth, and salsa. **2nd night - husband insisted I raise this soup to 4 stars. I added more liquid and the flavor was better. Might be one of those soups that is better the 2nd night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Really good. Don't cook the chicken before adding to the crock -- just throw it in raw. After cooking on high for that long, it shreds easily making it like a stew. I only cooked mine for 5 hours. You can even put the chicken in frozen, though it will probably need the entire cooking time for that. UPDATE: when I didn't have time for crock put, I cooked chicken in oil, when done, added ~4 TBSP flour, cooking for a minute before adding remainder of ingredients. (actually used black & pinto beans instead of white and forgot the onion. If I had remembered the onion, I would have cooked it at same time as chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
i made this on the stove and cooked within 30 mins...delicious. the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States