Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe was fantastic, but only after modifications, which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I omitted the condensed soup and doubled the salsa, used brown rice instead of white, added a good dose of chipolte powder, doubled the corn and added drained black beans. I diced the chicken into bite sized pieces, mixed everything including half the cheese together, topped with remaining cheese and covered with foil to bake. Really yummy and pretty healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe, but needs a few adjustments to make it 5 stars. First I added 1 can of drained black beans and 2 tsp. of dried onions. I also used garlic powder in place of onion powder. I seasoned the chicken with paprika, cumin & lemon pepper as another reviewer suggested. I had to let mine cook for 1 hr 15 min. Next time I will use brown rice as the white rice got too mushy. Was great as a "dip" with tortilla chips (once the chicken was shredded) and would make a great filler for tortillas. Would also be a great vegetarian recipe without the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
WOW. This was a hit! My husband and I were fighting over the leftovers! Since I love corn, I added two cans (one cup?! Come on!), seasoned my chicken with some garlic mesquite seasoning, topped it off with some sharp Cheddar I found in the fridge (for the first time in heaven knows how long, we were out of Mexican cheese) and then just waited. My husband was wary about cream of chicken soup with salsa, but after his first bite, the wariness was replaced with "Wow, hon, this is amazing" followed by a "This tastes like more." And when it tastes like "more" in our house, it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good recipe, my husband loved it! I changed it up a little too...traded the salsa for a can of Rotel (drained), traded corn for a can of black beans (drained). If I'd had frozen corn, I probably would have left it in. I cooked my rice seperately to avoid the undercooked issue. I sprinkled the cheese with garlic powder, cumin and chili powder. The chicken was cooked PERFECT, fork tender. Put the sauce over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe is so tasty and easy to make. I made it for my 16 year old nephew and he said it was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was delicious. My two preschool grandsons and somewhat finicky son-in-law asked for seconds. I used cheddar instead of Mexican cheese and used minute rice instead of regular . Very easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I added a drained can of black beans and more cheese, plus I chopped up the chicken per PP's advice. This was good but still a bit soupy for my taste. Next time I think I'll increase the amount of uncooked rice (I used brown) to about 1 1/4 cups and see if that helps. The taste was just what I was looking for so we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a great recipe and flexible to make some changes. I added a can of drained, rinsed black beans. I also added some chili powder, salt and pepper. Yum! Loved by the whole family, even my 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Quick and easy one dish meal - very little prep time, and only one dish to clean! I followed the recipe exactly. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Fairly basic chicken and rice with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States