Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I cut up the chicken and mixed it in with the other ingredients. Cooked it 15 minutes longer, but the rice was still crunchy. I think it could use more salsa too. Next time, I will pre-cook the rice and add more salsa. Overall, a very satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Not terribly exciting, but quick and satisfying. I added jalapenos and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I tripled the recipe and served it to a church crowd. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I double checked this recipe to make sure I'd followed it correctly and I did. I made it as written but my rice came out very soupy. I don't know what happened there. Will not bother making again. Still searching for a good chicken and rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really easy and really good. I added a can of black beans and a can of green chiles and sprinkled the chicken with chile powder so it had some color. I'll definitely be making this often. Would also be good with yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very good. My only issue was the cook time. I had to cook mine an additional 30mins to get the rice to be done. I think next time I will do it uncovered. I added a can of drained black beans and used already cooked chicken diced up because I had that on hand. It was very yummy. Oh, and I used cream of mushroom soup because that is what I had and used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
WOW. This was a hit! My husband and I were fighting over the leftovers! Since I love corn, I added two cans (one cup?! Come on!), seasoned my chicken with some garlic mesquite seasoning, topped it off with some sharp Cheddar I found in the fridge (for the first time in heaven knows how long, we were out of Mexican cheese) and then just waited. My husband was wary about cream of chicken soup with salsa, but after his first bite, the wariness was replaced with "Wow, hon, this is amazing" followed by a "This tastes like more." And when it tastes like "more" in our house, it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe, but needs a few adjustments to make it 5 stars. First I added 1 can of drained black beans and 2 tsp. of dried onions. I also used garlic powder in place of onion powder. I seasoned the chicken with paprika, cumin & lemon pepper as another reviewer suggested. I had to let mine cook for 1 hr 15 min. Next time I will use brown rice as the white rice got too mushy. Was great as a "dip" with tortilla chips (once the chicken was shredded) and would make a great filler for tortillas. Would also be a great vegetarian recipe without the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a lot better than I expected. The recipe as is I rate with four stars. The second time I made it, I added about 1 cup chopped onion, 1 can of drained, rinsed and cooked black beans, and about 1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapeño (w/o seeds). With those additions, I'd give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! Very easy to make and very tasty. I probably used a bit more cheese than called for, but other than that followed the recipe exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States