Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The chicken did have good lemon flavor and was juicy cooked this way. However, I thought the dressing lacked flavored. In my SW salad, I like to add avocado and blackbeans as well. Good concept. Fun to serve in little tortilla bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband and I really like this salad. I use about 12 ounces of chicken, light mayo, and light sour cream. I add either lime or lemon juice to the dressing to add a little brightness. I added halved grape tomatoes to it last night and found that to be a nice addition as well. I think leaving the seeds in the jalapeno would add the zing other reviewers are seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLKELLEY97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Needs more salt and spices. This has the base for a truly delicious salad but I agree with the others it needs to be kicked up a couple of notches. It was good on chips and would be good on tostada shells but it just missed the mark. Note: 2nd go-round added about 1 to 1-1/2 tsp Tabasco sauce, more salt and pepper and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Easy, quick and yummy. I accidentally left my unfinished pita with this salad in my mom's fridge after visiting her. She asked me a few days later what I had left because she had eaten it and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was okay. I prefer to have it warm in a tortilla. While it wasn't a big hit with me, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meadow Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My 19 year old daughter made this for us the other night. She wouldn't tell me anything about what it was until it was on the table. We all agreed it was yummy and a recipe to keep. I think that marinating and grilling the chicken would add a lot of flavor. It was good cold and served as a wrap filling, I added a little cheese to mine. Definitely will have her make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Needs more salt, but otherwise outstanding served with chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Delicious! I served it in pita halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
At least it was filling... I made this for dinner tonight and was not impressed. The taste was not what I was looking for, too bland for a "southwestern" dish. Even after doubling the jalapeno and seasoning the green pepper. The creamy dressing was bland, I added salsa to it and it still was not good. Will not make again, but at least my tummy is full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States