Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great salad with a nice Southwestern flair - perfect for a quick meal! Plus it's a great way to use up leftover BBQ chicken. I left out the jicama and opted for red pepper instead of green. I also added some sliced avocado. Instead of bottled ranch dressing I used "Ranch-Style Buttermilk" Dressing from this site and didn't mix any barbeque sauce in it since my chicken already had BBQ sauce on it. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I liked this. The only thing really different was I used a rotisserie chicken from the grcery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Added cilantro and omitted jicama and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent! I grilled the chicken breasts and sliced them thinly and feathered them for nice presentation on the salad....whole family loved it! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Followed the recipe and found this to be one of the best tasting salads I've had. The combination of black beans, corn, and the ranch/BBQ sauce dressing just screams 'Southwestern United States'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We had this for dinner last night and really enjoyed it. I used leftover grilled chicken breasts, frozen corn (thawed), and the jicama. I served the chicken mixture over red and green lettuce. We loved the different textures of this salad, but found the dressing a bit bland (we are not ranch dressing people, so I made my own from the Ranch Dressing Mix recipe on this site) - next time I think I will use a 50-50 mix of the dressing and the b-b-q sauce. Thanks for a nice entree salad - just in time for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We loved the bbq sauce and ranch dressing mixed together! Always a plus when it is good for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent base recipe. Didn't use the tortilla strips, jicama, red beans, or bbq sauce. Did saute the chicken in taco seasoning and added cilantro. Still very satisfying. My husband declared, "This is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was delicious! The only thing I did that varied from the recipe was to make my own ranch dressing - and added 1/2 bbq sauce 1/2 chipotle sauce for a nice kick. I used kidney beans instead of black, but only because my friend doesn't like black beans. I also used the jicama which absolutely MAKES this recipe - oh man it was awesome! I don't think I would ever put water chestnuts because they are more "asian" than "southwestern" and truly, I cannot say enough how the jicama was the perfect "something" in this recipe! We'll be making this A LOT! Thanks for giving us a new regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Good base to start from. I left out the water chestnuts and made a salad dressing of mashed avocado with ranch instead of the BBQ sauce. Drain the beans really well otherwise they will overpower the rest of the salad. Also reduced the amount of cheese by half. Instead of being the composed salad that this recipe suggests I mixed it all together and served it as an entree salad with the Sweet Corn Cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States