Southwestern Chicken Roulade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent!!But definitely gonna tweek it a little the next time. Thinking of serving it with sour cream and a bit more cheese. I served it with a salsa that had black beans and corn. Also, Ididn"t spray it with enough cooking spray and the coating was still just flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mickiw02
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My first attempt was a success! Very tastey! I used Choricuo a portuguese sausage & wheat flour but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickiw02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was so terribly difficult for me to make, but it was so good. I accidentally mixed the cheese and chorizo right after browning the chorizo, so it melted immediately. It didn't seem to matter though; my guests scarfed theirs down in seconds. I made it with the recipe for Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote). Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Great recipe although I will admit I made changes. I didn't have chorizo and I was looking to use up some chicken breasts and found this recipe. I used two links of cilantro chicken sausage from Whole Foods, 1/2 cup Italian cheese blend, and 1/2 cup goat cheese. I pounded the chicken breasts down and spread the sausage mixture over top. Rolled them up and let them sit in the fridge until I was ready. Then I rolled them in the masa harina (you don't really need 1 1/2 cups -- 1 cup or less will do) and put them on the lightly oiled cookie sheet and sprayed with Pam. Baked for 20 minutes at 375 degrees and raised temperature to 400 for last 15 minutes and then broiled for a few minutes before serving to get it slightly brown. My son loves chicken although my husband is less inclined to eat chicken and they both loved this. The masa harina forms a crust on the outside that keeps everything moist inside. The sausage and cheese cooked evenly as did the chicken while staying moist. They loved it! I didn't serve it with salsa -- just plain although I think a balsamic reduction would be fantastic with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I used chicken chorizo from Trader Joe's and was incredibly dissappinted that I wasted my delicious sausage on something so dry and bland. I like chorizo and masa harina so I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a hit with my teenagers and husband. I substituted crushed corn flakes for the masa harina...FANTASTIC! Loved the cornflake coating. In addition to the salsa, I served with sour cream on the side. The combination of the chicken and the chorizo/cheese filling was nice and balanced. Definitely had leftover filling, I could have made 8 breasts easily. Family already asking me to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
We will definitely try this recipe again, but I will make some revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe was great! It was surprisingly easy and the chicken was so very tender. I couldn't find masa harina, so I lighty used ground corn meal. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States