Southwestern Chicken Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious! I made my own stock from one full chicken carcass. For the chicken in the recipe I roasted a half chicken. Also, since corn is in season, I used fresh corn on the cob (2 ears) instead of canned. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Based on what I had in the kitchen, I added celery, omitted cumin and corn, and exchanged kidney beans for black and chicken bouillon for broth . turned out great! Super easy, and obviously you don't have to follow the recipe to a tee to make it work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved this recipe but I did add carrots, celery, peas, potatoes and I used a tablespoon of corn meal to thicken. I cooked it in the pressure cooker and it was ready in 16 minutes. yummy and better the next day! Thats what I call a great fast dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I loved this and it was a nice change from regular chicken barley soup. The only thing I would add next time is salt. I felt like it needed a little extra seasoning. Came together quickly and I had every thing in my pantry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good more like chili than soup great way to use up some leftovers I used turkey instead of chicken and had some leftover black beans and rice and just tossed it in along with all the ingredients in the recipe. Topped it with mexican blend cheese a little sour cream and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The black beans and chiles are a yummy addition to the classic Quaker Chicken Barley Chili recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is very tasty! I have been following Weight Watchers and this is a great addition to my recipe file. (1 cup = 5 points). I did substitute PAM for the vegetable oil and I used 1C. of frozen corn instead of canned corn. Delicious! This is a very flexible recipe and changes can easily be made to suit your individual tastes. Vegetarians could delete the chicken and chicken stock; add another can of beans (or 2) and use vegetable stock. There are lots of options. I found the seasoning just right. I reheated a serving for lunch today and added about 1 tablespoon of water to thin it out a little. Again, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was great as a base recipe! I used home made chicken stock (about 3 cups). I didn't have canned chilies, so I used a jalepeno & serano pepper. We were out of black beans, but kidney beans were great. When cooking the chicken, I added chicken stock and plenty of cumin and seasonings. Definitely will be repeated, it tasted like tortilla soup after the extra cumin, crushed pepper and garlic. Served it with warmed tortillas, guacamole, sour cream and salsa. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The recipe is easy, affordable and yummy! I turned this into a crockpot dish (based roughly on the “Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup” also on this site) which made it even better. Plus it's easy to freeze and pack for a healthy lunch. Changes in ingredients: -instead of a can of chicken broth, I used a box of low sodium broth -added 4 stalks celery, chopped -added 3 carrots, chopped -added 2 extra cloves of garlic -added 6 tortilla chips -added about 1/4 cup extra barley Instructions: Drain (and rinse) black beans and corn. Combine all ingredients except chicken and tortilla chips in slow cooker. Stir. Place whole chicken breasts across top of soup, push down just below the surface so whole breast is submerged. Cook for 6 hours on low. Remove chicken breasts from slow cooker and shred (I usually accomplish this using 2 forks). Put chicken back into slow cooker. Add tortilla chips. Mix and cook on low for another 2+ hours to let the soup and flavors really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I LOVED this recipe!!! This was so delicious and easy to make. I didn't have any chicken in the house so I made it without....Im sure if you just swop veg broth with the chicken broth it would make a yummy vegitarian chili. I will make this over and over again, Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States