Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I found this quite good and very well-received by those who liked a little spice. It was easy, especially with a hand blender which I used to blend all the cauliflower. I used a little more than the recipe called for and the flavor came through, mixing well with the ham, cheese and pepper (the strongest flavor but not the first one noticed. I will definitely make it again! I may try adding potatoes for a heartier soup and perhaps experiment with other seasonings to add body. I think that the kind of ham used and how it was cooked will also change the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Excellent soup! Based on previous reviews, I used an additional cup of chicken broth for the cauliflower, and when it came time to add the ham & cheese, I made a paste with 1/2c milk & some flour. I added that and the amt of potato flakes required to the soup. The result was a creamy, cheesy soup with a kick. Next time, I will have to double the recipe so that we all have seconds...this doesn't last long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This soup was fabulous. WE are already on our second pot this week. Hearty with a great kick! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Superb! The pepper jack cheese makes it so good. I added a little more potato flakes than called for because I like a thick soup. I also pureed all the cauliflower which made it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Excellent soup!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use up the leftover ham from Christmas, however, I don't care for the traditional ham and bean soup. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out absolutely delicious. p.s. a great time saver was using my submersible blender stick/wand to puree the cauliflower. I served the soup with Hawaiian bread (also from allrecipes.com)which was a perfect combination--the spicy kick of the soup with the sweetness of the pineapple in the bread. Thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This soup is wonderful! I made it last night in anticipation of our sub-zero weather coming up. I added sliced mushrooms, zucchini, and green peas to the soup after I pureed some of the cauliflower. I added nothing else for seasoning and it was perfect. I only wish there was an easier way to clean melted cheese out of a cooking pot and bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Very tasty and sooo easy to do. Prepped the day before and within 30 min. had supper ready for SWMBO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue Toth
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love this soup! What a great way to use the leftover ham from the holidays! I love the cauliflower in this soup. I made it exactly as the recipe was written except I doubled the recipe. Don't forget the cilantro, it really makes it. Even the teenagers ate it up and asked for seconds! This is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Yummy. Subs too numerous to mention but not too many to get the idea. I needed to use up some cauliflower, potatoes, ham, and cheese. Used mostly pepper jack but threw in bits and pieces of white American and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I just made this Soup! What can I say but YUMMY!! The Pepper jack really gives the soup a kick! I was surprised that I did not even have to flavor it with salt! What a great recipe!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan mom of 4 girls

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States