Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This can be made better by eliminating the potato flakes and cooking up medium diced potatoes. Add after cauliflower is cooked. Save the cheese out and let each person add what they want to. Saves having to clean up a messy pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I found this quite good and very well-received by those who liked a little spice. It was easy, especially with a hand blender which I used to blend all the cauliflower. I used a little more than the recipe called for and the flavor came through, mixing well with the ham, cheese and pepper (the strongest flavor but not the first one noticed. I will definitely make it again! I may try adding potatoes for a heartier soup and perhaps experiment with other seasonings to add body. I think that the kind of ham used and how it was cooked will also change the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This soup is wonderful! I made it last night in anticipation of our sub-zero weather coming up. I added sliced mushrooms, zucchini, and green peas to the soup after I pureed some of the cauliflower. I added nothing else for seasoning and it was perfect. I only wish there was an easier way to clean melted cheese out of a cooking pot and bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Excellent soup!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use up the leftover ham from Christmas, however, I don't care for the traditional ham and bean soup. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out absolutely delicious. p.s. a great time saver was using my submersible blender stick/wand to puree the cauliflower. I served the soup with Hawaiian bread (also from allrecipes.com)which was a perfect combination--the spicy kick of the soup with the sweetness of the pineapple in the bread. Thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Excellent soup! Based on previous reviews, I used an additional cup of chicken broth for the cauliflower, and when it came time to add the ham & cheese, I made a paste with 1/2c milk & some flour. I added that and the amt of potato flakes required to the soup. The result was a creamy, cheesy soup with a kick. Next time, I will have to double the recipe so that we all have seconds...this doesn't last long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Made this today. Previous reviews said it was bland so I did make a few changes because I like soup with a lot of flavor. I also needed to use up a few veggies that were in the fridge. I sauteed the onion with celery, carrot, onion & garlic & 2 bay leaves. Added 3 cans ckn broth & 1 can of veg broth. Learned this from another recipe on this site. Veg broth does make a difference. Scored a smoked pork hock. Put it in & simmered for 1 hour. Took the hock out. Put the cauliflower & a lonely little diced zucchini in & simmered for a few minutes. Put the immersion blender in for a few seconds. Not long. I like to see the veggies in my soup. Added diced ham & meat from the hock. Mixed 1/2 cup flour & milk & let it thicken. Finally the potato flakes. I will make this again. OH YUM!!!!! Also when you are adding the cheese do it a little at a time and keep stirring has it melts. This way you won"t have a cheese ball in your soup. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Good, but I had to add nearly a cup of potato flakes to get a thick soup. I prefer a more traditional thickening method--roux and milk and/or chicken broth would give a smoother texture. Potatoes would be a good addition; simmering them with the cauliflower would add stach to the broth and help to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Really super easy soup and if you leave out the potato flakes, it's lower in carbs, too. I doubled the recipe so that I could use a mammoth head of cauliflower. I cooked the cauliflower in the broth, then pureed it in batches with some of the broth that it cooked in. I did add two very large organic chopped red peppers and one very large organic chopped zucchini and four cloves of garlic. I really wanted a little extra veggies in my soup to make it a little heartier and not just cauliflower-flavored. What I did was while I was pureeing the cauliflower and the broth, I sauteed the onion, pepper, zucchini and garlic in the EVOO (I did need a little more) in my soup pot and once they were ready, I just added the cauliflower puree and a little of the excess broth. I then added in the ham and the cheese. (I only used about 3/4 cup or so. Not much.) After tasting it, I did add about a teaspoon of red pepper flake. This really almost seems like a potato soup. That's what I love about cauliflower soup. You puree it and it fools you into thinking that it's potato soup and you don't need the added milk or cream to get that creamy flavor/texture. This soup had a few steps but the end result was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I eliminated that potato flakes and added a diced potato, BUT the cheese isn't a good idea, very messy, instead I would substitute Cheez Whiz instead next time....had some left over corn I added....and now it's a keeper. I also added a dash of pepper flakes....now it's a five!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue Toth
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love this soup! What a great way to use the leftover ham from the holidays! I love the cauliflower in this soup. I made it exactly as the recipe was written except I doubled the recipe. Don't forget the cilantro, it really makes it. Even the teenagers ate it up and asked for seconds! This is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States