Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I found this quite good and very well-received by those who liked a little spice. It was easy, especially with a hand blender which I used to blend all the cauliflower. I used a little more than the recipe called for and the flavor came through, mixing well with the ham, cheese and pepper (the strongest flavor but not the first one noticed. I will definitely make it again! I may try adding potatoes for a heartier soup and perhaps experiment with other seasonings to add body. I think that the kind of ham used and how it was cooked will also change the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Good, but I had to add nearly a cup of potato flakes to get a thick soup. I prefer a more traditional thickening method--roux and milk and/or chicken broth would give a smoother texture. Potatoes would be a good addition; simmering them with the cauliflower would add stach to the broth and help to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Excellent soup! Based on previous reviews, I used an additional cup of chicken broth for the cauliflower, and when it came time to add the ham & cheese, I made a paste with 1/2c milk & some flour. I added that and the amt of potato flakes required to the soup. The result was a creamy, cheesy soup with a kick. Next time, I will have to double the recipe so that we all have seconds...this doesn't last long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This soup was fabulous. WE are already on our second pot this week. Hearty with a great kick! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Superb! The pepper jack cheese makes it so good. I added a little more potato flakes than called for because I like a thick soup. I also pureed all the cauliflower which made it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
The cheese in this recipe clumped together in the soup and made the it rubbery. If there were a way to emulsify the cheese, the recipe would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Excellent soup!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use up the leftover ham from Christmas, however, I don't care for the traditional ham and bean soup. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out absolutely delicious. p.s. a great time saver was using my submersible blender stick/wand to puree the cauliflower. I served the soup with Hawaiian bread (also from allrecipes.com)which was a perfect combination--the spicy kick of the soup with the sweetness of the pineapple in the bread. Thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This soup is wonderful! I made it last night in anticipation of our sub-zero weather coming up. I added sliced mushrooms, zucchini, and green peas to the soup after I pureed some of the cauliflower. I added nothing else for seasoning and it was perfect. I only wish there was an easier way to clean melted cheese out of a cooking pot and bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
It was ok. I love cream of cauliflower soup but was trying to avoid the high fat and calories. This recipe did that but I sure missed the fat and calories : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is a great hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States