Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very good. I also added chopped celery and ground black pepper, but otherwise kept as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tynesjl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My husband said not enough flavor plus it was too spicy hot. On the plus side, it wasn't hard to put together, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a great family recipe!! The kids loved it (I'd made extra, and I'm lucky I did; as my fairly picking 7 year old asked for it the next day!) I did make some changes though; to make it a bit better to our taste. We'd added a bit of garlic when sauteing the onions; and a bit of diced mushrooms (which the kids hate but we love); a bit of zucchini; and a little brocoli; as well as some potatos (added about 6 medium/large potatoes for a double recipe.) Blended up; the kids ate all the veggies; no worries; we'd blended about 3/4 of the soup; made for a thick; but still slightly chucky, soup. We'd added the cheese to individual bowls to help with cleanup (as it takes forever to scrub cheese out of a pot!) Also; instead of using ham or chicken broth - we'd gotten a smoked pork hock and covered it with water; and simmered that for half an hour or so. Then removed the pork hock and cut all the meat off of it to use in place of the ham. And the water used to boil the hock in - instead of draining it out; we'd used that instead of chicken broth; and topped up whatever was nessesary with water and chicken stock powder. Really nice flavour; really hearty; warming, soup; perfect winter/fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
this was delicious. and better yet, quick! i did have to boil the cauliflower for about 7-8 mins, tho, as i didn't want it 'grainy'. i used an infuser to blend right in the pot. i also used shredded monterey jack cheese. i will definitely make this again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Made this today. Previous reviews said it was bland so I did make a few changes because I like soup with a lot of flavor. I also needed to use up a few veggies that were in the fridge. I sauteed the onion with celery, carrot, onion & garlic & 2 bay leaves. Added 3 cans ckn broth & 1 can of veg broth. Learned this from another recipe on this site. Veg broth does make a difference. Scored a smoked pork hock. Put it in & simmered for 1 hour. Took the hock out. Put the cauliflower & a lonely little diced zucchini in & simmered for a few minutes. Put the immersion blender in for a few seconds. Not long. I like to see the veggies in my soup. Added diced ham & meat from the hock. Mixed 1/2 cup flour & milk & let it thicken. Finally the potato flakes. I will make this again. OH YUM!!!!! Also when you are adding the cheese do it a little at a time and keep stirring has it melts. This way you won"t have a cheese ball in your soup. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This yielded a lot more than 4 servings, at least with the changes I made: used a whole cauliflower head, as I have no idea how much 3.5 cups is. I used a whole package of roasted garlic potato flakes, and it turned out very thick and yummy. It was great and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great Soup. Used left over ham from a spiral. Added a little more onion and cheese. Also used canned potatoes over the instant flakes (used half can). The soup has a great flavor and kick. The cilantro topped it off. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This can be made better by eliminating the potato flakes and cooking up medium diced potatoes. Add after cauliflower is cooked. Save the cheese out and let each person add what they want to. Saves having to clean up a messy pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Absollutely delicious! I sauteed 6 fresh mushrooms with the onions. I added an extra cup of chicken broth and 1 diced cooked potato with the cauliflower. Next time I'd use 1/2 PepperJack and 1/2 Monterey Jack with Habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I just made this Soup! What can I say but YUMMY!! The Pepper jack really gives the soup a kick! I was surprised that I did not even have to flavor it with salt! What a great recipe!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan mom of 4 girls

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States