Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Keeper recipe. Added 3 potatoes and boiled them with the cauliflower. Also added 2 bay leaves. Then blended it all. Used about 3/4 cup of cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I eliminated that potato flakes and added a diced potato, BUT the cheese isn't a good idea, very messy, instead I would substitute Cheez Whiz instead next time....had some left over corn I added....and now it's a keeper. I also added a dash of pepper flakes....now it's a five!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The only change I made was to eliminate the ham. I have to say that the taste was great but I couldn't get past the texture. The potato flakes seemed a bit starchy and the cheese wouldn't blend into the soup to my satisfaction. Won't be making this again. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
YUMMMM!!!! This is such a great soup. I always add a little bit of cumin to add to the southwestern flavor! Def. must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Really super easy soup and if you leave out the potato flakes, it's lower in carbs, too. I doubled the recipe so that I could use a mammoth head of cauliflower. I cooked the cauliflower in the broth, then pureed it in batches with some of the broth that it cooked in. I did add two very large organic chopped red peppers and one very large organic chopped zucchini and four cloves of garlic. I really wanted a little extra veggies in my soup to make it a little heartier and not just cauliflower-flavored. What I did was while I was pureeing the cauliflower and the broth, I sauteed the onion, pepper, zucchini and garlic in the EVOO (I did need a little more) in my soup pot and once they were ready, I just added the cauliflower puree and a little of the excess broth. I then added in the ham and the cheese. (I only used about 3/4 cup or so. Not much.) After tasting it, I did add about a teaspoon of red pepper flake. This really almost seems like a potato soup. That's what I love about cauliflower soup. You puree it and it fools you into thinking that it's potato soup and you don't need the added milk or cream to get that creamy flavor/texture. This soup had a few steps but the end result was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This soup was super-easy and totally delicious!!! However, I didn't exactly follow the recipe. We eat mostly vegetarian, so I left out the ham. Also, I used real potatoes, finely sliced instead of potato flakes. In addition to the Pepper Jack, I used some Chipotle Cheddar which kicked the spice up a notch--I probably only used 1/2-3/4 cheese, and it still tasted amazing. I was shocked that there weren't any spices needed to make the flavor so scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
So quick and easy! I added garlic to the onion, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Used a hand blender to make it even quicker. Got a "please make again" from the family, and I definitely will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Oh so yummy with that little kick from the pepperjack. I used a large head (about 2 pounds) of cauliflower, reserving about 2 cups of small florets. I did not have to use the potato flakes (better for our low carb diet) and is was creamy and delish. Micro or steam the reserved florets and add them to the finished soup. Really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Thisi s a superb soup. I added garlic with the onions and and 1 chopped jalapeno pepper. It was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
was good.....think next time i will use potatos and skilp the potato flakes just for some additional texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States