Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This was DELICIOUS. But I changed a couple of things. Instead of the tomato paste, i used a can of diced tomatos. And I poured it over rice and added shredded cheese. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this using ground turkey, dried black beans that I cooked myself, and frozen corn. I also used the Taco Seasoning recipe on this site, instead of a package. It was good, but rather bland. So I added a couple extra tsp's of chili powder and cumin, salt, and pepper. With extra spices, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I found this recipe on here about 6 years ago and have made it ever since. It is a family favorite. I double the beans to stretch it a little farther. I don't drain the beans as the recipe states, so as not to lose all that flavor and nutrition. I add a can of chopped green chili peppers & also a can of stewed tomatoes, chopped up. A lot of times I have ground beef already cooked & drained in the freezer, which makes this about a 10 min. prep meal. A real winner for busy nights. But even if I don't have the ground beef pre-cooked, I cook it in my dutch oven, drain & make this stew in the same pot. I know this is originally a crock pot recipe, but I cook it on the stove. I just bring to a boil, turn down the heat & simmer for about 30 - 45 min. It turns out just great. We eat this with cheese, tortilla chips & sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I really liked this dish. It's kind of a hybrid between chili and soup. Very kid-friendly (once they get over eating beans) and quick to make on a weeknight. I didn't use a slow cooker, just simmered it in the same big pan I cooked the meat in to save on the dishes. Instead of a packet of seasoning, I used Taco Seasoning I from this site. It smells, looks and tastes exactly the same (maybe even better) than a store bought version with a FRACTION of the sodium. We're having the leftovers tonight over baked potatoes with shredded cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good & kid friendly! I used frz. corn because I had it on hand and prefered to use (1) can of crushed tomatoes instaed of the tomato paste. Added some beef broth only because I was looking for more of a soup than a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
excellent recipe!! i had to double the recipe for my family size. my kids loved it. even my daughter who claims she doesn't like corn; but she scarfed this dish down. the only thing i did differently was added some chopped onion, bell pepper and a can of petite diced tomatoes (plain--no flavor added). and a little extra seasoning to taste. i also added the sour cream directly to the pot and stirred in, instead of adding to individual servings and served with tostitos. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
We LOVE this! I make it with ground turkey to lower the fat. A friend drains the beans, leaves out the water and makes this into a dip. Either way, it's always a hit. Tip: this freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't use water - I used salsa and chicken broth instead. I also drained and rinsed the black beans before putting them into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe. I used salsa instead of the tomatoes to give it a kick. I will def. make this again. TFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I loved it and will definately use it again. The whole family enjoyed it because we could eat when ready. Kept very well in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States