Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I always feel misleading when I review a recipe that I changed. That being said I did like this as a base recipe and made some changes per my preference. I used ground turkey instead of beef and sauteed an onion and green pepper with the turkey. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of tomato paste and only needed to add about 1/2 cup water. I drained and rinsed the black beans before adding. I also added more spices- garlic, chili powder, onion powder, red pepper, cumin. I made a much bigger batch than the recipe suggests (added 3 cans of BB) and it was wonderful reheated for lunch. I love what I created and appreciate the direction this recipe gave me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good & kid friendly! I used frz. corn because I had it on hand and prefered to use (1) can of crushed tomatoes instaed of the tomato paste. Added some beef broth only because I was looking for more of a soup than a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was very tasty but a bit watery. I topped with sour cream and cheese. Cooked stovetop as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelic3432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Gave this a 4 star as written. I added onion and garlic, which then makes it a 5 star to me. :) Great recipe! Yumm! I should've doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent. Didn't have canned corn so used a pkg of steamer corn an it was fine. Also added onion and green pappers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Yummy!! I did sub chicken for the ground beef and used a 16 oz jar of salsa in place of the tomato paste and water. I served the sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was great. The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I love this recipe and can now make it from memory. I like to mix it up with pinto beans, chicken, pork, even celery. We add a lot of pepper and garlic to every dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is just TOO good, just as is. I will however add some onions in the future. The amazing thing is that it's SO, SO embarassingly easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very good! I subsituted a can of rotel for the tomato paste and added an additional can of black beans. My family scraped the pot clean. Sooooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnk.kiefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States