Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I found this recipe a couple years ago and it's something I now make on a regular basis. It's simple, fast, easy, and delicious! In fact, it's on the stove as I'm writing this review. Oh, and I don't change a thing except that I use the "hot" taco seasoning mix and throw in some extra garlic and cumin for personal taste. It is, however, awesome just as submitted. Thanks, Lanay Bien, for posting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Good and Simmple! I used cooked chicken cut into cubes instead of ground beef, and added chicken broth instead of water. Served it with tortilla scoops! We'll have leftovers as a salsa snack today! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Swapped out the tomato paste for canned diced tomatoes, and served over rice. Will probably add onions when browning ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Perfect as is! I wanted to make chili with pre-seasoned taco meat, a can of black beans, and a bag of frozen corn, and this was it! SO easy for a fall weeknight, and everyone loved it because it pretty much just tastes like a taco. I added a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles, and will probably add 2 cans next time. But I love that I could email this recipe to my husband and he could make it exactly like this with no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Bee in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
this was delicious! i subbed can of diced tomatoes for tomato paste. added onion and garlic before sauteing meat. i added some wheat penne pasta (for my kids). topped with sour cream, cheddar cheese and cilantro. it was a huge hit! we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Well, to be honest, I was not expecting much but everyone in my family loved it. I followed recipe but used 1/2 can tomato past and then full can of MILD rotel...came out awesome! After putting it all together I then threw in crockpot on low for the day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilies instead of the tomato paste for more zip..and it had plenty of zip! For those that like less spicy then the plain tomatoes will work just fine. I wanted a side dish to go with meat I already had/didn't want the beef in it so I just left the beef out and used beef broth instead of water. Made 3/4 c of rice (1.5 c when cooked) to serve it over. 3 of us got 2 meals from it....so the rating for 6 servings is accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
delicious - however a little runny... I suggest draining the beans before. Great and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious! I used all my leftovers from taco night (ground beef, corn, and black beans) to make this -- a great way to turn the same ingredients into a different meal! Not leftover-y at all. Like other reviewers, I also used a can of diced tomatoes (the kind with onion and garlic) instead of the tomato paste. Added some spices and it turned out great! I also served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very Yummy! I found this just by typing ingredients that I had on hand. I used tomato sauce instead of paste. I also added a can of Rotel Diced tomatoes and used mexican corn instead of plain corn. Will definatelymake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanaDurdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States