Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by GregDavis
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This stuff is so good! I've made this recipe twice and it turned out great both times. The only things I added was jalapenos to kick it up a notch and an onion cooked with the ground beef. My wife loves it and its just as good after freezing. I think it will be a regular in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was a good dish, the kids loved it, and its even good cold with chips for scooping. I changed a few things though, I used frozen corn instead of canned, and added a can of diced tomatoes, a small green pepper and a little salsa. I found it was a bit runny so I also added some cornstarch and water for thickening, it was Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was so good and easy. I added some green pepper and I cooked the whole thing in a pot on the stove. This worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't use water - I used salsa and chicken broth instead. I also drained and rinsed the black beans before putting them into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I'ld make this, just not too often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Super good! I replaced beef with tofu and it was yummy! Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovi16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family really enjoyed this but I had to add extra spices such as extra taco seasoning, cumin, and onion powder, because it started off too bland. To top the stew, I had cheese, sour cream, limes, jalapeno, and I also made tortilla strips in the oven to top the stew with. I thought it tasted like a glorified chili but my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wow! This was great! I used a can of tomato soup and a can of italian seasoned tomato (drained) in place of the tomato paste and water. Added a couple of dashes of chili powder. It was great. I also tried this with shredded chicken and a can of green enchilada sauce where I normally used the tomato soup. We added our sour cream afterwards. This was great poured over crumbled up cheesy cornbread. Might I add we ate it about 6 or ate times in just a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
GOOD. Easy to make and assemble. I cooked this on the stove top and let simmer 1 hour. I used cut up steak but chicken would be good as well. Also, works great as a dip if you use all beans (pinto, black, kidney etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaraFamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was a very good recipe, everyone liked it except my daughter gave it a three because she does not like spicy food. We substituted tomato sauce for the paste and water, since we had some leftover. We used cooked, dried beans instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States