Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Didn't have tomato paste so I used one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Used the Taco Seasoning I Recipe from this site instead of a store-bought mix. Can be spiced up and revised according to use (soup or dip). This is very easy, fast, and filling on a cold Winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Average- but bascially just chili, nothing special. I probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreavyse
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made just as written, using lite sour cream. Very good for an easy meal where you probably already have most of it in your pantry! Served with the cheddar on top and sliced jalapenos. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very delicious basic recipe. I did change it a bit. I didn't have tomato paste on hand so I used 1 can of Rotel Tomatos and 1/2 cup salsa, omitted the water. I also added jalepanos and 1 small onion to the beef for a little spicer dish. Turned out wonderful! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this exactly according to the recipe and it is great! It is SO quick and easy to make, and my kids like it. Thanks for a family-friendly, time-saving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SFAITHJ
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Solid recipe however I tweeked it a bit. It ended up being a simple, hearty chili when I was done (see my photo). I used dried black beans that were soaked overnight, ground beef, a special chipotle taco sauce, a can of diced tomatoes and spices (chili, dried chilis and cayenne pepper). I let the beef and diced tomato mixture simmer for a bit to get rid of the excess liquid. Then, I added the beans. Topped with cheddar cheese and sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was very good. It was simple to make and very satisfying and tasted DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GregDavis
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This stuff is so good! I've made this recipe twice and it turned out great both times. The only things I added was jalapenos to kick it up a notch and an onion cooked with the ground beef. My wife loves it and its just as good after freezing. I think it will be a regular in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was a good dish, the kids loved it, and its even good cold with chips for scooping. I changed a few things though, I used frozen corn instead of canned, and added a can of diced tomatoes, a small green pepper and a little salsa. I found it was a bit runny so I also added some cornstarch and water for thickening, it was Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was so good and easy. I added some green pepper and I cooked the whole thing in a pot on the stove. This worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States