Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I found this recipe on here about 6 years ago and have made it ever since. It is a family favorite. I double the beans to stretch it a little farther. I don't drain the beans as the recipe states, so as not to lose all that flavor and nutrition. I add a can of chopped green chili peppers & also a can of stewed tomatoes, chopped up. A lot of times I have ground beef already cooked & drained in the freezer, which makes this about a 10 min. prep meal. A real winner for busy nights. But even if I don't have the ground beef pre-cooked, I cook it in my dutch oven, drain & make this stew in the same pot. I know this is originally a crock pot recipe, but I cook it on the stove. I just bring to a boil, turn down the heat & simmer for about 30 - 45 min. It turns out just great. We eat this with cheese, tortilla chips & sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Really happy with the way this turned out. I also added a can of diced tomatos ans reduced the water by a little. It's almost like a chili and a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Tastes good, but is a little bit bland. I added salt and pepper, but next time I make this I'll add some chili powder. Very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
My family loved this recipe! Especially my kids and husband who aren't too fond of too spicy. I added hot sauce at the table and thought it was just fine as well! A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe is A W E S O M E. We have it at least 3 times a month. I use less water and add rotel tomatos.(drained) to give it a little kick. Really great for the weeday and kids. We eat it with totilla chips and lots of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Great basic recipe that you can spring from: we added one can of white northern beans, chili powder, one small can of green chiles, oregano, cumin, and one can of diced tomatoes. We omitted the water since the canned stuff provided all the juice necessary. Cooked a pot of rice and mixed everything together into one fragrant stew. It was great and we ate it with tortilla chips- the whole family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
My family and I LOVE this recipe. It is so easy to make and it is delicious! I make this at least once a month and the only thing I change is that I use ground turkey and add a little chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
It was delicious. I served it w/ tortilla chips and used it as more of a "heavy" appetizer. It wasn't pretty but it got rave reviews from my guests. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This recipe is awesome. I started with a cup of dry black beans, though. I seasoned them with nearly a handful of cilantro and two packets of pork buillon. I also seasoned my beef with texjoy steak seasoning. I didn't have sour cream or cheese either, but it was delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Awesome! So easy, and so so good. I added some cayenne pepper and chili powder cause hubby and I like it hot. I didn't understand simmering the beef and taco seasoning once the fat was drained off- then there was no liquid to simmer it in, so once I drained it, I just added it and the seasoning packet into a pot with the other ingredients. I only simmered it for about 20 minutes total. This recipe makes a great weeknight dinner in a flash. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States