Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2001
I have made this twice now - I find it best if you only use one layer of tortilla chips on top of the 1st layer, then cheese, then rest of sauce topping with cheese, only making 2 layers rather than 3. The first time I used all of the chips and it was very dry. On top layer of cheese also added some chopped olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Like others I took advice from those listed here and added my own variety. 1. Bought 1 packet of taco seasoning. Added 1/2 the seasoning to the beef, onion, garlic as it browned. 2. Added the other 1/2 of the seasoning to the sour cream (aprx. 10oz). 3. Strained the 1 can of black beans, 1 can of corn. 4. In big bowl mixed beef, sour cream, beans, corn, 1 c. of salsa. 5. I only did two layers (beef-->chips-->taco cheese-->beef-->chips-->taco cheese). Topped with black olives, green onions. Served Corn cake on the side. Both can be in the oven at the same time & temp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
My family loved this dish! Of course, it was rich (beef, cheese, sour cream), so we made some veggie smoothies as an "appetizer". My youngest daughter (7yo) liked the variety of the cheezy layer on top. I used about 2/3 to 3/4 of the chili powder and mild salsa, and her sensitive palate was fine spice-wise. I replaced 16oz of canned corn with a 16oz bag of frozen corn, which made the corn sweeter and more distinct. Like others, I also used sliced black olives on top instead of chopped tomatoes. We'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Greenwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe. I was expecting just the normal "taco casserole", but it was very good. It had a good texture to it. All the ingredients melded together very well. I did leave out one can of black beans and used only one 15 oz. can of corn. I also just eyeballed the salsa and used enough to moisturize everything (probably about 1 cup). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Very Tasty! I followed the advice of some previous reviewers and made some changes of my own. To the meat, I didn't add the garlic or the chili powder. But I did use a packet of taco seasoning. Then when adding the meat and other ingred. to the bowl, I first added another packet of the taco seasoning to the sour cream. Then I placed half of this mixture in the dish, used only one layer of the chips and cheese and then topped it with the remaining meat mixture and cheese. It was very good! I think the taco seasoning helped it not be so bland. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
We loved it! My husband and I aren't big fans of black beans so I left those out. And I only used 8oz of sour cream, but it turned out great! It will definitely stay up front in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A group of us from work volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House and decided to make this for dinner on our night. We made 3 casseroles for the entire house and almost ran out! Kids and adults alike loved this dish! So simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is the very first recipe I tried from allrecipes, and it has become one of our favorites. Since it is just my husband and me, I halve the recipe. I halve all the ingredients except for the cheese and chips which I don't measure, I just crush/sprinkle what I need as I go. I omit the tomato, and it fills out a 8x8 casserole dish perfectly. Then I bake according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Delicious! I used only one can of black beans and 1 and a half cans of the corn. I added hot taco seasoning to the beef mixture, to which I also added one chopped green bell pepper. I used much less than five cups of crushed tortilla chips. I added chopped, fresh cilantro to the meat mixture, after cooking. Instead of just cheddar, I used a taco cheese mixture for the cheese layers. Instead of adding chopped fresh tomatoes on top of the casserole, I used canned, diced tomato with green chiles. I forgot to add the green onions to the top, but I didn't miss them with all of my modifications. This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Good weeknight meal if you use red. fat sour cream and no-salt-added canned goods. Next time I'll add the tomatoes and green onions as a colorful topping AFTER baking so the onions don't get crunchy. Maybe some sliced black olives would look pretty too? Only used 1 can corn like some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States