Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
needs something else to make it a little more juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I used another reviewers suggestion of adding a dollop of sour cream to the finished dish rather than before baking. This worked well as I didn't find it dry like some of the other reviewers. Didn't add the black beans as I couldn't find them in the supermarket. I added a packet of taco seasoning as I wasn't sure if the salsa & chili would add enough flavour. This was an ok dish, easy & tasty but not brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I tried the recipe with chicken and it turned out all right. Way to many black beans. I also used a can of stewed tomatoes and less salsa! If I try it again I will probably tweak the ingredients a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I don't like black beans so I substituted chili beans (drained and rinsed). It was very good and filling. Will make again and again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
So disappointed in this dish that I threw two thirds of it away. It was dry, bland and had too much corn. Everyone agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I think the amount of sour cream is extreme. We were disappointed in the final dish. It, also, takes more than 20 minutes to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I used half the salsa and substituted stewed tomatoes as i wanted to reduce spiciness so my 3 yr old would enjoy it as well. In order to avoid the dryness some others complained of, i left out the sour cream and added a dollop at the end on each plate. This was a fantastic meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A group of us from work volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House and decided to make this for dinner on our night. We made 3 casseroles for the entire house and almost ran out! Kids and adults alike loved this dish! So simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
We loved it! My husband and I aren't big fans of black beans so I left those out. And I only used 8oz of sour cream, but it turned out great! It will definitely stay up front in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
I have made this twice now - I find it best if you only use one layer of tortilla chips on top of the 1st layer, then cheese, then rest of sauce topping with cheese, only making 2 layers rather than 3. The first time I used all of the chips and it was very dry. On top layer of cheese also added some chopped olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States