Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I tried the recipe with chicken and it turned out all right. Way to many black beans. I also used a can of stewed tomatoes and less salsa! If I try it again I will probably tweak the ingredients a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I don't like black beans so I substituted chili beans (drained and rinsed). It was very good and filling. Will make again and again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
So disappointed in this dish that I threw two thirds of it away. It was dry, bland and had too much corn. Everyone agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I think the amount of sour cream is extreme. We were disappointed in the final dish. It, also, takes more than 20 minutes to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I used half the salsa and substituted stewed tomatoes as i wanted to reduce spiciness so my 3 yr old would enjoy it as well. In order to avoid the dryness some others complained of, i left out the sour cream and added a dollop at the end on each plate. This was a fantastic meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A group of us from work volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House and decided to make this for dinner on our night. We made 3 casseroles for the entire house and almost ran out! Kids and adults alike loved this dish! So simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
We loved it! My husband and I aren't big fans of black beans so I left those out. And I only used 8oz of sour cream, but it turned out great! It will definitely stay up front in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
I have made this twice now - I find it best if you only use one layer of tortilla chips on top of the 1st layer, then cheese, then rest of sauce topping with cheese, only making 2 layers rather than 3. The first time I used all of the chips and it was very dry. On top layer of cheese also added some chopped olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
All six of us loved this casserole - even the daughter who hates Mexican food! I used "medium" salsa and it was very spicy. We ate it with extra sour cream and salsa, and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
This was TOO dry and lacked zip even though I used hot salsa. We love Mexican food but this was not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States