Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Super easy to prepare! Great dish to make on a busy day, all ingredients found on hand. Will add a little more spice next time, cause some like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My Family enjoyed this meal! I did take the 'advice' of other reviewers and used 1 can each of the beans and corn. Also, I used 1 package of Taco Seasoning to give it more flavor. Read the other reviews and adjust this recipe to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Excellent base recipe, which is why I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Things I changed, I added about 5 heaping spoonfuls of chili powder and some fiesta party mix from Tastefully Simple to the cooking meat. I also added 2 jallapenos to the cooking meat. I used refried beans instead of black beans because I didn't have any in the house. And, I also added extra chili powder and hot sauce to the mix before spreading into the 9 x 13 pan. It was perfectly spiced for me but my husband was adding more hot sauce! Would be great as a dip for chips too, but a lot of work for just dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I varied this recipe a little and used black refried beans instead of beef and then left out the sour cream, used a can of diced tomatoes mixed with garlic and herbs, a green pepper and light kidney beans (not sure of the amounts just estimated)instead of plain black beans. It turned out pretty good, would make it again without the chips and serve them on the side more as a dip dish. really colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brant, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe. I was expecting just the normal "taco casserole", but it was very good. It had a good texture to it. All the ingredients melded together very well. I did leave out one can of black beans and used only one 15 oz. can of corn. I also just eyeballed the salsa and used enough to moisturize everything (probably about 1 cup). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Pretty tasty casserole. I substituted 1/2 the cheddar cheese with jalapeno cheese and my family thought it was plenty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. It was very bland. Maybe I'll use some other peoples advice and spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Very Tasty! I followed the advice of some previous reviewers and made some changes of my own. To the meat, I didn't add the garlic or the chili powder. But I did use a packet of taco seasoning. Then when adding the meat and other ingred. to the bowl, I first added another packet of the taco seasoning to the sour cream. Then I placed half of this mixture in the dish, used only one layer of the chips and cheese and then topped it with the remaining meat mixture and cheese. It was very good! I think the taco seasoning helped it not be so bland. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I liked this. It was a little bland so I added jalapenos to the top before I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I use flour tortillas instead of tortilla chips. It's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAHSHMEAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States