Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Good stuff! The only problem I ran across was that I forgot to add the second can of beans into the meat mixture. I didn't realize until I was working on the last layer. I just mixed in a whole can with what little meat mixture I still had and spooned it on top. No one was the wiser and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was pretty boring. Unfortunately, I didn't have any taco seasoning, so instead I added more garlic and chili powder, and also some ground cumin. This improved it a little but it was still pretty blah. I wouldn't make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Like others I took advice from those listed here and added my own variety. 1. Bought 1 packet of taco seasoning. Added 1/2 the seasoning to the beef, onion, garlic as it browned. 2. Added the other 1/2 of the seasoning to the sour cream (aprx. 10oz). 3. Strained the 1 can of black beans, 1 can of corn. 4. In big bowl mixed beef, sour cream, beans, corn, 1 c. of salsa. 5. I only did two layers (beef-->chips-->taco cheese-->beef-->chips-->taco cheese). Topped with black olives, green onions. Served Corn cake on the side. Both can be in the oven at the same time & temp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Loved It, used 1/2 can of Black beans, only 1 can corn, turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was surprisingly yummy, not the most appetizing looking though!! It even warmed up well for leftovers. Might be good to round out this dish with a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Delicious! I used only one can of black beans and 1 and a half cans of the corn. I added hot taco seasoning to the beef mixture, to which I also added one chopped green bell pepper. I used much less than five cups of crushed tortilla chips. I added chopped, fresh cilantro to the meat mixture, after cooking. Instead of just cheddar, I used a taco cheese mixture for the cheese layers. Instead of adding chopped fresh tomatoes on top of the casserole, I used canned, diced tomato with green chiles. I forgot to add the green onions to the top, but I didn't miss them with all of my modifications. This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Good weeknight meal if you use red. fat sour cream and no-salt-added canned goods. Next time I'll add the tomatoes and green onions as a colorful topping AFTER baking so the onions don't get crunchy. Maybe some sliced black olives would look pretty too? Only used 1 can corn like some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I thought this recipe was delicious. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a little dry. I think it would be more moist with less tortilla chips so I will use cut back on the chips the next time I make this casserole. The flavor is wonderful and I like the combination of black beans and corn. Don't be afraid to use 1 tablespoon or more of chili powder. It really does add to the flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was so easy to make and very yummy! I forgot the chilli powder, but it was good without it. I also added extra cheese. It made more than I expected, so I put half in the freezer for another meal. I will be adding this meal to our "rotation" of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Emerson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
My husband and I thought this was a great meal. I tweaked it to our liking. I used one can of black beans that I rinsed first and used frozen corn instead of canned. I omitted the sour cream and salsa. I added fresh diced tomatoes and seasoned with low sodium McCormicks Taco Seasoning packet to the cooked meat mixture and cooked everything together for a few minutes. Then, I put it all in a baking dish then lightly crushed unsalted tortilla chips and topped with shredded cheese. I baked for only five minutes to melt the cheese. It came out really tasting really delicious to us. We don't like a lot of salt on our foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States