Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
My family loved this dish! Of course, it was rich (beef, cheese, sour cream), so we made some veggie smoothies as an "appetizer". My youngest daughter (7yo) liked the variety of the cheezy layer on top. I used about 2/3 to 3/4 of the chili powder and mild salsa, and her sensitive palate was fine spice-wise. I replaced 16oz of canned corn with a 16oz bag of frozen corn, which made the corn sweeter and more distinct. Like others, I also used sliced black olives on top instead of chopped tomatoes. We'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Greenwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was pretty good. I made a few changeds because either personal taste or lack of ingredients. I added a can of green chilis, because we like it pretty hot. I only had half of the sour cream, and no fresh tomatoes, so I used canned. Came out pretty good, did have to add more hot sauce and salsa because it was a little dry. My husband said it was more like a nacho topper than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is the very first recipe I tried from allrecipes, and it has become one of our favorites. Since it is just my husband and me, I halve the recipe. I halve all the ingredients except for the cheese and chips which I don't measure, I just crush/sprinkle what I need as I go. I omit the tomato, and it fills out a 8x8 casserole dish perfectly. Then I bake according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this recipe for a family at my church who had just had a new baby, and it made such a huge batch that I made a smaller pan of it for my husband and me also. Everyone loved it! It was easy and used ingredients I had on hand. My husband isn't a huge bean fan, but he still ate this up and was greedy for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
It was ok. It took a long time to make, the portion was huge, it was messy, and a waste of chips. The majority of it is still in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very good. I had some taco meat that in the freezer, mixed in the corn and beans, some leftover sour cream and a random amount of salsa; and layered as described. Rave reviews from the pool party. So easy I'll do again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
The flavor of this dish is really good but it dried out fast. I would make this again but I would skip the crushed tortilla chips. People are going to dip the chips in this dish, I don't think you need double chips. Leftovers were good in a burrito :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was awesome. I made it in a rush one night after work, and my hubby and a few of his friends devoured it. It makes the family rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Good stuff! The only problem I ran across was that I forgot to add the second can of beans into the meat mixture. I didn't realize until I was working on the last layer. I just mixed in a whole can with what little meat mixture I still had and spooned it on top. No one was the wiser and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was pretty boring. Unfortunately, I didn't have any taco seasoning, so instead I added more garlic and chili powder, and also some ground cumin. This improved it a little but it was still pretty blah. I wouldn't make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States